Skip to main content

LTCS 250: Native American Literature: Scholarly Articles

Resources for Native American Literature & Culture

Articles in Scholarly Journals

Athough the titles of the journals to which the Library subscribes are included in Roger, individual articles are not. Instead, scholars and publishers have developed databases, often derived from printed bibliographies, that index the relevant articles in a particular discipline. Some of the databases include the full texts of some of the articles, but normally you are searching only on article titles, other kewords, author names, and subject headings applied by the compilers. The following are principal bibliographical databases in the disciplines of literature, history, and related disciplines.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography. Indexes journal articles, essays or chapters in books, dissertations, and other scholarly resources relating to the literature and language written in any of the languages of the world that are still spoken. In addition to all U.S. literatures, it would include articles on literature, folklore, or linguistics relating to languages still spoken by indigenous peoples.  As with Roger, you may search by keyword but it is usually more efficient to determine the subject headings used by the Bibliography for your topic. MLAIB uses "Native American," not "Indian," to refer to the indigenous literatures and languages of the United States. 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Unlike the MLAIB, the coverage is limited to literatures written in Englsh -- but that's fine for Native American Studies. The majority of citations here are also included in MLAIB, but ABELL ocasionally finds something the MLA bibliographers don't. For example, the following citation from ABELL isn't found in MLAIB: Hubácková, Alexandra.: "Breathing Out the Words of a Different World: American Indian Authors Writing in English."  Moravian Journal of Literature and Film (1:1) 2009, 89-100. (2009). Unfortunately, the journal can't be found in the U.S.: WorldCat lists only three libraries, all in Germany.

America: History and Life. Covers articles and other scholarly publications relating to the lands and peoples in what is now the United States and Canada. Uses the subject phrase "Indians of North America" rather than Native Americans, but the latter is used adjectively, as in "Native American Films," "Native American motion picture actors and actresses," "Native American military personnel," etc.

Anthropology Plus. Indexes over 2500 journals in all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including folklore and mythology.The approved term here is "Indians of North America."

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. There seems to be some inconsistency as to whether "American Indians" or "Native Americans" is the preferred subject heading: both of them retrieve a substantial number of hits. 

ATLA Religion Database. The approved term here is "Indians of North America," but keyword searches of the phrase "Native Americans" may turn up additional useful citations.