Skip to main content

LTCS 250: Native American Literature: Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Resources for Native American Literature & Culture

Historical

The Library has acquired access to the searchable fll texts of several U.S. newspapers, which will offer extensive coverage of news about Native Americans that was considered important by the mainstream press.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers. This link allows for combined searching of the following newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), and Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).

American Periodical Series. Full text of North American periodicals (magazines and newspapers) from 1740 through the 19th century; a few early 20th century periodicals also included. Useful for insight into how mainstream magazines portrayed Native Americans and what they did, and did not, include.

 

Recent (Last 20 Years)

Note: The following databases--Ethnic NewsWatch, the three newspapers, and World News Connection, are all available on the ProQuest platform so they can be cross-searched simultaneously. To do so, search from this box.

Ethnic NewsWatch. This database covers 1990 to the present and is updated daily. It indexes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority  press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked  perspectives.  Most, but not all, of the citations include the full text of the article; all citations have abstracts. The publications offer both national and regional  coverage. Searches can be limited to pubications associated with a particular ethnic group, e.g. Native People. 

New York Times (1999-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and even The Wall Street Journal provide coverage of all national issues, albeit from a mainstream perspective.

World News Connection. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources, the information in World News Connection covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, environmental issues and current events throughout the world. Updated daily.

Not in ProQuest:

Academic Source Complete. This is a very multidisciplinary bibliographic database, with a considerable amount of full text. It includes many scholarly journals, but I include it here because it is also our best source for finding articles in popular magazines such as Time, the New Yorker, the Atlantic, Harper's, etc.

LexisNexis Academic. Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary, usually no more than 25 years in the past. .