Skip to main content

LTCS 250: Native American Literature: Audio and Video

Resources for Native American Literature & Culture

Audio and Video

Ethnographic Video Online. Covers every region of the world, featuring the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. 750 hours and 1000 films when complete. Search the entire collection, or click on Browse: Cultural Group, select North and Central America, then United States, Although there is currently only 1 hit under "Native American," there are additional hits under the names of individual tribes. 

American History in Video. Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, currently with 1622 hours and 6005 titles. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

American Song. A history audio database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.Currently, the "genre" Native American includes 109 songs.

To discover recordings in Geisel Library of Native American music, type the subject heading Indians of North America--Music in Roger. Unfortunately, recordings OF the music and books ABOUT the music are intermingled in this heading. To limit to actual recordings or links to digital recordings, click on the word "Audio" above the Roger search box before typing the subject heading.