Skip to main content

HIEA 136: History of Thought and Religion in China: Daoism: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia or dictionary is a great place to begin your research. They offer short articles on a broad range of topics and can help you to narrow your research topic or question. Use the bibliographies that accompany each encyclopedia entry to find more information on the topic you choose.

The A to Z of Taoism, by Julian F. Pas

Reference Geisel Floor 2 West,  BL1923 .P37 2006

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, 2002 abridged and updated ed. Licensed by UCSD

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b6309426~S9

With entries on major as well as minor religions

The Encyclopedia of Taoism, by Fabrizio Pregadio Licensed by UCSD

Google Books

Geisel Floor 5, BL1920 .E539 2008  v. 1 and v.2

Historical Dictionary of Taoism, by Julian F. Pas and Man Kam Leung

Geisel Floor 5, BL1923 .P37 1998  

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

http://www.iep.utm.edu

A peer-reviewed academic resource which provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. On Daoist philosophy, http://www.iep.utm.edu/daoism/

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

http://plato.stanford.edu/

With entries on Taoism, Neo-Taoism, Laozi and Zhuangzi




Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian Get help when you need it.  Call us or stop by one of our service desks for the face-to-face personal touch or use one of our other tools and get assistance at a distance.  Even in the dark of night, UC Chat is there to help.  Try our newest service, Text a Librarian.  Check out the options.