Skip to main content

HIEA 136: History of Thought and Religion in China: Daoism: Guides & Bibliographies

General Guides

BBC - Religion: Taoism

http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/taoism/

Provides a brief introduction to Taoism, including beliefs, ethics, history, people, rites, subdivisions, and texts

BBC - In Our Time, Daoism

http://www.bbc.co.uk/search/schedule/?q=daoism

Radio program discusses Daoism

BBC - Learning Zone Class Clips: Ancient Belief Systems

http://www.bbc.co.uk/learningzone/clips/ancient-belief-systems/1339.html

Daoism Handbook, by Livia Kohn Licensed by UCSD

In Google Books

The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy Licensed by UCSD

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b7251010~S9

Includes bibliographical references and index

ReligionFacts: Taoism

http://www.religionfacts.com/taoism/

Provides "just the facts" on Taoism 

A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization

http://depts.washington.edu/chinaciv/

Prepared by Patricia Buckley Ebrey; useful timeline and maps

Vitality, Energy, Spirit: A Taoist Sourcebook  Licensed by UCSD

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b3606520~S9  

Geisel Floor5, BL1900.A1 V58 1991

Tranlated and edited by Thomas Cleary

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Chinese Religions  Licensed by UCSD

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b7295575~S9  

With bibliographical references and index

Bibliographies

Bibliography for Daoist Studies

http://www.daoistcenter.org/bibliography.pdf

By Louis Komjathy and Kang Siqi, Center for Daoist Studies

Bibliography of Lao Tzu, Taoism, Chinese Literature, and Chinese Culture, with Related Readings

http://www.idiocentrism.com/china.laobib.htm

By John J Emerson

China Bibliography

http://hua.umf.maine.edu/China/bibtxt2.html

By Marilyn Shea, University of Maine at Farmington

Daoism and Ecology Bibliography

http://fore.research.yale.edu/religion/daoism/bibliography.html

        From the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies


Oxford Bibliographies, Chinese Studies Licensed by UCSD

        http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b8069043~S9

        Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines

Taoist Studies: Bibliography

http://www.daoiststudies.org/bibliography

By the Daoist Studies Group of the American Academy of Religion

Writings by Women on the Tao Te Ching

http://earlywomenmasters.net/tao/chen.html

Bibliography of writings of women translators and commentators

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian Get help when you need it.  Call us or stop by one of our service desks for the face-to-face personal touch or use one of our other tools and get assistance at a distance.  Even in the dark of night, UC Chat is there to help.  Try our newest service, Text a Librarian.  Check out the options.