Art, Museum, and Audiovisual
Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images
Getting started using ARTstor http://libguides.ucsd.edu/content.php?pid=119251&sid=1028203
ARTstor Asian Studies guide http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-pdf/sg_asianstudies.pdf
Use this guide to find images for research and class presentations
A joint venture of the Department of Religion, the University of Hawaii at Manoa, and the Honolulu Museum of Arts
With a research database of Daoist pantheon, which allows users to compare and contrast different representations of the same deity
An image archive of treasures at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan that includes paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, jade, bronzes, Buddhist antiques, etc.
Offers access to open source digital resources including texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages
Moving images include: animation and cartoons, cultural and academic films, ephemeral films, movies, home movies, sports videos, non-English movies, etc.
Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists
With biographical resources
An exhibit of Taoist art at the Art Institute of Chicago
Includes paintings, calligraphy, sculptures, porcelain, lacquer, ritual robes and implements from museums and private collections in the U.S., Europe, Japan, China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong; some video clips
A database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 221 BCE and 1911 CE
A fairly comprehensive collection of interactive cultural atlases on China
The Religious Atlas of China and Himalaya including Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, Christianity, and Judaism
Select Organizations & Websites
A branch of the Daoist Foundation, a non-profit religious and educational organization dedicated to preserving and transmitting traditional Daoist culture
With many useful links, including links to Taoist terms, basic and advanced resources lists as well as current Taoist projects
Associated with the Chinese University of Hong Kong, funded by the Hong Kong-based Fung Ying Seen Koon
Provides information on CSDC's various activities and projects
A non-profit theological and educational organization dedicated to promoting Taoism throughout the U.S. and the World
Features an extensive bibliography of secondary sources
By Dr. Fabrizio Pregadio, with useful research guides and bibliographies
The preeminent Japanese academic society focusing on the study of Daoism
One of the major academic associations dedicated to the study of Chinese religions
Get help when you need it. Call us or stop by one of our service desks for the face-to-face personal touch or use one of our other tools and get assistance at a distance. Even in the dark of night, UC Chat is there to help. Try our newest service, Text a Librarian. Check out the options.