Skip to main content
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedias & Handbooks are a very good place to start your research. They can help you analyze your topic to find key concepts, define terminology that you may not understand, and lead you to references of primary articles that you can use for your research.
Resources with a lock mean that you need to have your off-campus computer configured for access.
An online encyclopedia about a variety of scientific topics. Note: you will need to be using a UCSD networked computer or the proxy server to be able to access this resource, and access is limited to 2 users at a time. Try again later if refused.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
An online encyclopedia about a variety of scientific topics. Note: you will need to be using a UCSD networked computer or the proxy server to be able to access this resource.
Nucleic Acids from A-Z
This dictionary style "mini-encyclopedia" contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms in the field of nucleic acids research.
Handbook of Molecular and Cellular Methods in Biology and Medicine
This handbook incorporates conventional as well as modern approaches to tackling biological and medical research in the post genomic era. Topics covered include DNA sequencing & analysis, genomics, microarrays, proteomics, and metabolomics.
Limited to one user at a time. Try again later if refused.
UC San Diego Library's Catalog (Keyword Search)
Use the Catalog to learn more about your topic. Background information from scientific books can help you identify search terms to use in article databases.
Find a book using the UCSD Library Catalog, Roger