Skip to main content

UC/Stanford Maps & Geospatial Data Common Knowledge Group (CKG): UC Riverside

UC Riverside

UC, Riverside
Mailing Address Special Collections and University Archives
Tomás Rivera Library
3401 Watkins Dr.
P.O. Box 5900
University of California Riverside
Riverside, CA 92517-5900
Map Collection Unit Head Name: Janet Reyes
Title: Geospatial Information Librarian
Telephone: (951) 827-6421
E-mail address: janet.reyes@ucr.edu
Map Collection Contact Person Name: Margarita Yonezawa
Title: Map Collection Assistant
Telephone & Fax #: (951) 827-2255
E-mail address: margarita.yonezawa@ucr.edu
Map Collection Alternate Person  
Map Collection Hours 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F
Central ILL Tomás Rivera Library
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F
Contact person: Janet Moores
Telephone #: (951) 827-3234
Fax #: (951) 827-5743
E-mail address: jmoores@ucr.edu
Preferred hours for telephone contact: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F
Preferred Method of Requesting Email or telephone first to check availabilty of a map. mapcoll@ucr.edu, phone (951) 827-6423.
Lending Policies For books and atlases request through ILL. For folded and flat maps contact Map Collection staff by email or phone.
Description of Collection 100,000 topographic and thematic topographic maps and atlases of countries of the world, with an emphasis on Riverside and San Bernardino Counties, and the states of California, Arizona and Nevada. The collection includes aerial photographes of local areas.

UC Riverside, Water Resources Collections and Archives

UC, Riverside - Water Resources Collections and Archives
Mailing Address UC Riverside
Water Resources Collections and Archives
Special Collections and University Archives 
Tomás Rivera Library 
PO Box 5900
Riverside, CA 92517
Map Collection Unit Head  
Map Collection Contact Person Kent LaCombe
kent.lacombe@ucr.edu
(951) 827-2802
Fax #: (951) 827-2255
Map Collection Alternate Person  
Map Collection Hours The circulating collection is available during the Tomás Rivera Library's hours of operationAccess to non-circulating and archival collections is available Monday-Friday by appointment.
Central ILL

Tomás Rivera Library
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F
Contact person: Janet Moores
Telephone #: (951) 827-3234
Fax #: (951) 827-5743
E-mail address: jmoores@ucr.edu
Preferred hours for telephone contact: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Preferred Method of Requesting Request directly from Map Library by e-mail, telephone or fax. Please contact the library to determine whether or not the maps are eligible for ILL. If the map(s) cannot be loaned, it may be possible for WRCA to have the map(s) photocopied, for applicable fees. 
Lending Policies WRCA loans materials to anyone with a valid identification. WRCA does not loan any materials published prior to 1970. Materials in fragile or deteriorated condition also are not loaned. Maps should be requested by contacting WRCA directly. For the non-academic community, some ILL fees may apply. Contact the WRCA for folded and flat maps. For books and atlases, request through ILL.
Description of Collection The WRCA map collection consists primarily of historical and manuscript maps showing water-supply information. The collection also contains maps for the U.S.G.S. Hydrologic Investigations and Open-File Reports series. Geographic focus is on California and western U.S.