Practitioner's guide to data science by
This book aims to increase the visibility of data science in real-world, which differs from what you learn from a typical textbook. Many aspects of day-to-day data science work are almost absent from conventional statistics, machine learning, and data science curriculum. Yet these activities account for a considerable share of the time and effort for data professionals in the industry. Based on industry experience, this book outlines real-world scenarios and discusses pitfalls that data science practitioners should avoid. It also covers the big data cloud platform and the art of data science, such as soft skills. The authors use R as the primary tool and provide code for both R and Python. This book is for readers who want to explore possible career paths and eventually become data scientists.
Building Your Career As a Statistician by
This book is intended for anyone who is considering a career in statistics or a related field, or those at any point in their career with sufficient work time remaining such that investing in additional learning could be beneficial. It’s suitable for anyone pursing an MS or PhD in statistics or those already working in statistics. The book focuses on the non-statistical aspects of being a statistician that are crucial for success, including: 1) productivity and prioritization, 2) innovation and creativity, 3) communication, 4) critical thinking and decisions under uncertainty, 5) influence and leadership, 6) working relationships, and 7) career planning and continued learning.
Machine Learning Interviews
As tech products become more prevalent today, the demand for machine learning professionals continues to grow. But the responsibilities and skill sets required of ML professionals still vary drastically from company to company, making the interview process difficult to predict. In this guide, data science leader Susan Shu Chang shows you how to tackle the ML hiring process.
Programming Interviews for Dummies by
This book explains the skills and knowledge you need to ace the programming interview. Interviews for software development jobs and other programming positions are unique. Not only must candidates demonstrate technical savvy, they must also show that they're equipped to be a productive member of programming teams and ready to start solving problems from day one. This book demystifies both sides of the process, offering tips and techniques to help candidates and interviewers alike. Audiobook also available.
Developing Analytic Talent: Becoming a Data Scientist by
Learn what it is like to work in this field, and what it takes to land a job and thrive. This book covers what skill sets employers want. Data science involves extracting, creating, and processing data to turn it into business value. The book outlines essential data science skills, such as statistics and visualization techniques, and covers everything from analytical recipes and data science tricks. It features job interview questions, sample resumes, salary surveys, and examples of job ads, as well as case studies explore how data science is used on Wall Street, in botnet detection, for online advertising, and in many other business-critical situations. The author has over 15 years of big data, predictive modeling, and business analytics experience.
Build a Career in Data Science by
This guide exists to help readers get their first data science job, then move quickly into becoming a senior employee. Industry experts explain the soft skills readers need alongside their technical know-how in order to succeed in the field. The book covers creating a portfolio to show off your DS projects; picking the right role for you; assessing and negotiating an offer; and leaving gracefully and moving up the ladder. It also includes interviews with professional data scientists about their experinces.
Change Manager: Careers in IT Service Management. by
Change management is about the control of all changes that have an effect on the IT services and hence, the business of an organisation. This practical book describes the change manager role in depth including purpose, typical responsibilities and required skills. Also covered are change management methods, techniques, useful tools and relevant standards and frameworks, as well as career progression opportunities.
Programming Interviews Exposed: Coding Your Way through the Interview, 4th ed by
Ace technical interviews with smart advanced preparation, and this book covers the skills you need to stand out as the best applicant to help you get the job you want, in a context where online coding contests are being used to screen candidate pools of thousands, take-home projects have become commonplace, and employers are even evaluating a candidate's public code repositories at GitHub.
Data Science Careers, , Training, and Hiring A Comprehensive Guide to the Data Ecosystem: How to Build a Successful Data Science Career, Program, or Unit by
The volume provides a broad introduction to what is needed to be successful as a new entrant to the field of data science, including giving a 360-degree view of the data science landscape. It also introduces a new resource of over 460 U.S. Data Science Programs, as well as a framework on how to evaluate them, including associates, bachelors, masters, certificates, and doctoral programs.
Soft Skills to Advance Your Developer Career: Actionable steps to help maximize your potential by
The author describes how emotional intelligence can give your software development career an edge. These subjects are not taught in school, and unfortunately the career advancement of many excellent developers can be blocked by their inability to effectively communicate their needs, assert themselves, and negotiate confidently. Throughout this book, Nagy shows you how to actively improve and prioritize your soft skills so that you can better represent the holistic interests of your team, obtain better working conditions, negotiate raises, and increase your variety of employment options by elevating your interviewing skills.
Surviving the Whiteboard Interview: A Developer’s Guide to Using Soft Skills to Get Hired by
The industry standard whiteboard interview can be daunting for developers. Let’s face it: it combines the worst aspects of a typical interview, on-the-spot public speaking, a quiz show, and a dinner party full of strangers judging you—all at once. With enough preparation, information, and assured confidence, you can survive a whiteboard interview at any organization. The author covers how to practice both hard and soft skills needed to succeed at a whiteboard interview, covering coding tests as well as psychological preparation. You can learn how to make other aspects of your interview stronger, so you can create a great impression, too.
Data Analyst; careers in data analysis by
This book is an essential guide to the role of data analyst. Aspiring data analysts will discover what data analysts do all day, what skills they will need for the role, and what regulations they will be required to adhere to. Practising data analysts can explore useful data analysis tools, methods and techniques, brush up on best practices and look at how they can advance their career.
Project Managers at Work by
This book covers how to break into project management, cultivate leadership skills, and influence higher-ups. It provides tips to win assignments to manage career-advancing projects and ace deliveries. It also tells how to avoid pitfalls and recover from operational failures and managerial mistakes. The content is explored through interviews with professionals in PM.
Data Professionals at Work by
Enjoy reading interviews with more than two dozen data professionals to see a picture of what it's like to work in the industry managing and analyzing data, helping you to know what it takes to move from your current expertise into one of the fastest growing areas of technology today. There are interviews in this book with database administrators, database programmers, data architects, business intelligence professionals, and analytics professionals. Interviewees work across industry sectors ranging from healthcare and banking to finance and transportation and beyond. Each chapter illuminates a successful professional at the top of their game, who shares what helped them get to the top, and what skills and attitudes combine to make them successful in their respective fields.
Thriving in the Gig Economy by
Take an in-depth look into the gig economy to see how tech professionals and entrepreneurs can earn a living as freelancers and contractors. Build your own business. The pros and cons of the lifestyle and what to expect from it are discussed.... You will understand how to make a living supplying tech skills on a "per gig" basis. Practical instructions, advice, and tips are provided on goal setting, lifestyle design, and selecting the types of work and contracts that further your goals and support the things you value as you transition from a 9-5 job.
Fast-Tracking Your Career: soft skills for engineering & IT professionals by 
Scientific Research as a Career by Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
Example: entrepreneurship. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
See the most recent offerings from Fast Company.
Below are two packages of IT analyst reports that could help you prepare for interviews, identify potential employers, and keep up with trends in a variety of areas.
The Vault online resource collection features IT-specific content as well as company profiles and guides to working in various industries. It's a great resource for job hunting, internship seeking and career planning. Below are a sample of the kinds of titles you'll come across here. Don't miss the added article content in Vault's Careers in IT and Interviewing and Job Search sections.
Vault Guide to Information Technology Consulting Jobs, 2nd ed.
