LibGuides: Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Military Career Resources

Books

Out of Uniform: your guide to a successful military-to-civilian career transition by Tom Wolfe
Call Number: JSTOR ebook
ISBN: 9781640120198
Publication Date: 2018
Although all service members share common denominators, each individual brings something unique to the job market. Not only does this book cover the basics--search techniques, networking, interview preparation, résumés, negotiation, and a new chapter on social media--it also offers guidance on topics that are often overlooked, specifically the central issues of self-knowledge, interviewing empathy, and the power of questions.
Make Your Bed by William H. McRaven
Call Number: EBSCOhost ebook
ISBN: 9781478920380
Publication Date: 2017
#1 NYTimes best seller. If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed. Admiral McRaven
recounts ten principles from his Naval SEAL training that not only helped him overcome challenges not only in his long Naval career, but also throughout his life. This book provides simple wisdom and practical advice, to inspire readers to achieve more, even in life's darkest moments.
Understanding the Military: The Institution, the Culture, and the People
Publication Date: 2010
This paper is designed to answer some of these questions by providing an
overview of the military as an institution, the service members and their families who are the
backbone of the institution, and how current military conflicts have affected service members,
their families, and the future of military service.
Integrating the US Military : Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation by Douglas W. Bristol (Editor); Heather Marie Stur (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421422473
Publication Date: 2017
The military in many ways is more progressive than similar efforts in the civilian world. Today, the military is one of the best ways for people from marginalized groups to succeed based solely on job performance. By examining controversies from racial integration these essays show the military is an important institution in which social change is confirmed and, occasionally, accelerated.

Videos

Ten Coolest Military Jobs
Intense or technical jobs offered by the military which make you say "Oorah." All of which build skills for civilian careers.
A glimpse into life on a military base during deployment
CNN visits an army base in Afghanistan and records the on base lifestyle of Army Infantry.

Navigate your military options

The military can be an amazing opportunity for anyone. For those who join, It boasts job security for those who complete training during or after high school or college. More than that the military offers careers unlike any others in the United States from being a combat system operator, jet engineer, drill sergeant, drone pilot, and military police officer or lawyer. It also can help you travel the world, explore multiple jobs, secure benefits, develop leadership skills, discipline, and give back to your country.

Military Careers and Jobs:

Today's Military
A website produced by the United States Department of Defense as a resource for young adults, parents and educators curious about military service. Provides a general overview of military careers.
The Balance
The Balance helps people achieve financial empowerment and find careers. On its military page it provides snapshots of military careers from deciding to join, qualifications, training, specific jobs, and benefits. Includes information for enlisted and officer paths.
Salary estimator
Developed by Today's Military to display a salary range based on years and rank in military service.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Provides descriptions and data on area specialties in the military.
Official Military Career Pages
Each branch, both active duty (full time job, deploys more frequently, can be based over seas or in US) and part-time duty (part-time job, deploys less, mostly based in US) has an official page.
- Active:
  Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, Navy
- Part time:
  Air National Guard, Air Force Reserve, Army National Guard, Army Reserve, Coast Guard Reserve, Marine Corps Reserve, Navy Reserve
Defense News
The authoritative, independent, professional news source for the world's defense decision-makers. The latest news and analysis on programs, policy, business and technology.
MyFuture
MyFuture helps young adults plan their next steps in life by bringing together the most recently available information about colleges, careers and military service opportunities from the U.S. Departments of Commerce, Defense, Education and Labor. This page answers the need-to-know questions on joining the military and peeks at life once in the military.

Veterans Resources

UCSD VA Office
The UC San Diego Veteran Affairs office offers counseling sessions for peer mentoring and veteran benefits. Also available are different PT sessions including surfing.
San Diego Veteran Resources
The city of San Diego provides a guide for local Veteran assistance centers and their websites for education, health, housing, benefits and more.
General Motors Jobs: Veterans
General Motors is an international corporation owning many automobile companies and partnering with many more companies for over a century. They provide listings and benefits information on there Veterans page.
U.S. Veterans Seeking Law Enforcement Jobs
Law Enforcement faces constant under-staffing and veterans have many of the necessary skills to be successful officers. Here are some locations preferring veterans. Additionally this article explains screening processing and concerns particular to veterans.
Recruit Military
RecruitMilitary helps employers connect with America’s best talent -- its veterans.
they offer our services free of charge to veterans and their spouses to support them during their job search.
RecruitMilitary provides a connection to businesses interested in hiring veterans.

Books & Articles Geared for Veterans

California Veterans Resource Book
Publication Date: 2016
Many benefits and services available to veterans have expanded and improved over the past decade. The CalVet Resource Book provides a comprehensive guide for accessing your earned benefits.
Veterans Benefits for Dummies by Rod Powers
ISBN: 9780470398654
Publication Date: 2009
This book outlines the various programs that the VA and other government agencies have in place as well as the procedures for filing applications, claims, and appeals for benefits.
Potentially high recruiting jobs for veterans
GI Jobs is a company dedicated to assisting veterans utilize their talents in the civilian world. They work with Farmers Insurance, Verizon, Hilton, Columbia University, Drexel University and more.

News Feeds

Below are the current articles from Defense News, which can be used to follow trending topics on all aspects of the military:

Below are the latest articles about military careers from the database Military & Government Collection, which covers academic and news publications covering all branches and a broad range of fields, like Military Technology, Air & Space Power Journal, Sea Power, and many more.

Research Help

Adele Barsh

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

Special Thanks

Thanks to Stephen Hodges, UC San Diego student and Library employee, who contributed extensively to the creation and contents of this page.

Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Military Career Resources

Intro