Skip to main content
Online Resources for Property Data
Some key resources to start your property data search.
Extensive collection of searchable property data extracted from textbooks, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases. You can search by compound and property (heat capacity AND ammonium chloride). Some titles have interactive features like an equation plotter.
NIST Data Gateway
Large collection of property databases from National Institute of Standards & Technology. Search by keyword, property or substance across the NIST databases (including the NIST Chemistry Webbook
NOTE: Many of the NIST databases are free, but the Gateway also points to some fee-based databases we do not have.
Search by substance (ammonium chloride), and then view the associated data by property (heat capacity). You'll either get the actual data, with a reference to journal article, or a description of what you'll find in the journal article (such as a diagram).
Landolt-Börnstein (aka SpringerMaterials)
Extensive collection of physical property data.
This series is now part of SpringerMaterials, which we don't license. However, you can still search the database for your compound and property, and if it's from a pre-2010 Landolt volume in the New Series, you can access it online via Portico
. Make sure you note the Landolt volume and chapter name from your SpringerMaterials search, which you'll need when you browse the volumes in Portico. Instructions on searching SpringerMaterials to locate a Landolt-Bornstein chapter in Portico
A (free) chemical structure database of over 60 million chemical structures. Search to find property data and spectra, with sources included. Data extracted from other sources, including companies and government agencies, as well as deposited data from registered users.
find the data you need by searching Google, but note the source. Is this a journal article or someone's webpage? You can also try Google Scholar
Property Data - Print Resources
We still have a lot of property data handbooks in the library, including classic titles like Molecular Spectra and Molecular Structure (volume 4 has v00 values, for example).
There are several ways to locate data handbooks in the library. A keyword search in our library catalog may be helpful depending on the property in question. Adding tables or data to the search can refine your results.
Arizona State maintains an Index of Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data. You can browse their A-Z list of properties to find associated print/online sources. Call numbers, URLs and availability are for the ASU copies. Use our catalog to verify availability and URL/call number.
Units, Quantities & Constants in Physical Chemistry