Skip to main content
Starting Places for Chemical Safety Resources
The primary SDS source at UC San Diego. Access to the Chemwatch SDS library. Can select from several report options: Chemwatch-written (Gold), vendor-supplied, and mini one-page SDSs.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students (1st edition)
Undergraduate textbook on chemical laboratory safety. Topics: emergency response; recognizing, understanding and communicating about hazards; risk assessment; minimizing, controlling and managing hazards; and chemical management.
RightAnswer Knowledge Solutions
Collection of multiple toxicology databases, including RTECS. Search your compound, and then select RTECS Registry from the results. One-time registration required.
Lab Safety Videos (UCSD)
List of lab safety videos posted on the UCSD Laboratory Safety Manual site
. Includes videos produced by Dr. Haim Weizman in the Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry, as well as other universities and organizations.
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards
Guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. Offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, etc. (Revised, 2011)
300+ handbooks, databases, and encyclopedias on safety and industrial hygiene, including property data resources like Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (7th ed), Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists, Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (6th ed), Comprehensive Toxicology (2nd ed) and the AIChE/CCPS series. Browse or search an individual title, or search for your compound and property across the entire Knovel collection.
One of our core resources for chemical research. From the substance record, look at the Bioactivity/Ecotox section to see effects, species, and additional data like method, exposure, and further details. You may need to refer to the reference journal article for more information. Some substances may actually linkout to a PubChem record, with links to toxicology databases and journal references.
Search across multiple databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Includes ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank, TOXLINE, Integrated Risk Information System, International Toxicity Estimates for Risk, Haz-Map, and Household Products Database.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
General industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes. Presents key information: NIOSH recommended exposure limits, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and NIOSH immediately dangerous to life and health values (IDLH)--with linkouts to these databases. Also physical properties, personal protection recommendations, incompatibilities and reactivities, exposure routes, symptoms and more.
Handbooks and More
Looking for a specific title, like Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference, or Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities? Here's a list of some key safety titles, including data handbooks.