Skip to main content
Wireless & Off-Campus Access
Most of the resources on these pages are licensed by UCSD. Wifi and off-campus access are restricted to students, faculty, and staff.
Databases for Education Journals
Start with Education Source and ERIC to search the education literature. Use
to get to the article full text, check the catalog for a print copy, or request if we don't have it.
Indexes more than 2,850 journals, with full text for more than 1,800. Also indexes 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Search alone or with Academic Search Complete, Education Index Retrospective, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and/or Social Sciences Full Text.
Indexes the education literature, journal articles (EJ) as well as other documents (ED) like book chapters and conference proceedings. Some of the ED documents can be accessed online.
Additional databases that also index education journals.
Web of Science
Often the best place to start your search for journal articles for science and engineering. Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals, with full-text is available for over 5300 journals. Overlaps with Education Source.
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases.