Skip to main content
These business databases are another good source for information on chemicals, companies and industries. They may include news (newspapers and trade magazines), company and industry profiles, company financial data, and market share and investment reports.
Databases for Company/Industry News and Business Information
For pricing information for your chemical in the first four databases listed here, consider adding words like price, cost (or costs), profile, outlook, and/or economics.
You can search some of these databases by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes. For example: 325130 is the code for Synthetic Dye and Pigment Manufacturing. The NAICS codes can be searched or browsed from the the US Census website
Business Source Complete
Key index to the business literature, with lots of full text. Includes trade publications, scholarly journals, magazines, and company and industry profiles.
Business Insights: Global
Another key index to the business information literature that pulls from multiple sources: scholarly journals, newswires and newspapers, magazines and trade publications, case histories, company and industry profiles, market share and financial reports.
2017 Elements of the Business of Chemistry
A free overview of the US chemical industry, from the American Chemistry Council. Similar to their "Guide to the Business of Chemistry," but with less historical data.
Full text database covering newspapers, trade magazines, industry publications, and company profiles.
Full text coverage of thousands sources, including newspapers, business and trade magazines, newswires and tv/radio transcripts.
Investext (Thomson One)
Database of company profiles, including financial reports, news, and research reports. May work better in Internet Explorer.
Public company information on more than 45,000 U.S. and international companies. Includes financials, industry reports and news.
Database of U.S. and global industry market research reports.
Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times
Combined search of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Los Angeles Times. Or you can search them individually (go to the Databases link to select).