Skip to main content

Chemical Prices, Companies, and Industry Information: Trade Magazines

 

Trade magazines are great sources for news about the chemical industry, and you may find the price information you need. But they can be tricky to search. Some content like the Chemical Engineering price indexes are only available in the print issues, while the Chemical Profiles in ICIS Chemical Business are in Lexis Nexis and the other databases listed, but not as easy to find as they are through the publisher's site.

  Current Online Access Print Access

ICIS Chemical Business

Weekly profiles of various chemicals (US, Asia, Europe). Each Chemical Profile includes uses, supply/demand, prices, technology and outlook. The Chemistry Library at UT Austin maintains an index of the Chemical Profiles and issues

Best online access: from publisher website, July 2007-present (follow the instructions to access). Full access to issues, including Chemical Profiles, which are also listed separately. 

Alternative access: from publisher, June 2012-present.Includes the Chemical Profiles, but site is less user-friendly.

Also in Business Insights: Global, Lexis Nexis, Business Source Complete, and Factiva. But the Chemical Profiles are harder to locate and don't include the tables or charts. Recent issues may also be embargoed.

Indicative Chemical Prices, 2006-2008.

TP1 .O25

Print issues ceased in 2016

Chemical Engineering

The Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index (CEPCI), published monthly. The CEPCI is a composite index assembled from four sub-indexes: Equipment; Construction Labor; Buildings; and Engineering & Supervision. In the print issues only.

How the CEPCI is calculated

Online access via Business Insights: Global and Lexis-Nexis, but neither one is great. The CEPCI isn't included, and both are are several months behind.

TN1 .C519

​Latest issues - Geisel 2 West

C&EN Global Enterprise (AKA Chemical & Engineering News)

Annual features include: World Chemical Outlook, Employment and Salary Survey, Global Top 50.

Online access via American Chemical Society, 1923-present

ACS still maintains the original C&EN website, but access to some issues requires that you have an ACS membership.

QD1 .C517

No print after 2013

IHS Chemical Week

CW Price Report (prices for ~20 major chemicals), which ceased in mid-2010.

Product Focus - profiles similar to what's in ICIS Chemical Business. Ceased in mid-2009.

Best online access: Lexis-Nexis, 1975-present. You cannot browse the issues, but you can use the Advanced Search to retrieve articles from Chemical Week within a specific date range.

Online access via Academic Search Complete, up to September 2010. May be easier to search for the old Price Report and Product Focus articles here.

TP1 .C527

Latest issues - Geisel 2 West

Chemistry World

Trade magazine of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Online access via Royal Society of Chemistry, 2004-present.

Online only

Hydrocarbon Processing

Some oil and gas industry metrics.

Online access: Academic Search Complete, 1995-present. The industry metrics are included, but the online issues are one month behind.

TP1 .H995

Latest issues - Geisel 2 West

ENR: Engineering News Record

Construction Economics - 20-city average cost indexes, wages, and material prices. Prices and indexes rotate over 4 weeks.

Best online access: Business Source Complete, 2001-present. Includes the Construction Economics data. Also Lexis Nexis, but with a delay and no Construction Economics tables.

TA1 .E572 

Latest issues - Geisel 2 West