General Information
- Ask a Librarian
Information about how to get research help, including real-time chat. Please don't hesitate to ask for assistance in finding information. That's what we're here for.
-
Off Campus Access
Set up proxy or vpn access to the library's resources from home. By doing this, you can do much of your research without ever visiting the library. -
Manage Your Library Account
Create a PIN to be able to check your library account from home. Renew books, check due dates, and put holds on books. -
ROGER
UCSD's online catalog. Includes everything the library owns: books, journal titles, e-books, and audio/visual materials and more. -
Get Started with Library Research!
Not sure how to begin your research? This guide will give you all the information that you need to begin your project.
How to Use this Guide
Welcome!
This guide highlights some databases the UCSD Libraries license that you can use for content analysis. Be sure to scroll down to see the content in each box.
Please feel free to email me if you have additional research questions, would like to set up an appointment, or have other sources to include in the guide.
General News Media
- Access World News : More than 650 U.S. newspapers, including many smaller regional and local papers; also about 850 international sources (newspapers for English-speaking countries; for the rest of the world mostly wire services and BBC newspaper digests). Also a growing collection of transcripts and selected video from local US news broadcasts; and blogs hosted by newspapers. You can search by subject or browse by date for individual news source, or search many at a time. Dates of coverage vary, but usually as recent as the previous few days
- Lexis/Nexis Academic: A large collection of full-text sources including newspapers, wire service reports, broadcast news transcripts, blogs hosted by newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals. To search regular newspapers, choose the News Category "General News" and the News Type "Major Papers". Also try News Categories "U.S. News" or "World News" and try various News Types. Click on the "source list" to see what papers are included in each. Dates of coverage; may be as recent as today's news.
Magazines & Ethnic Community Papers
- Academic Search Complete: Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and general interest magazines; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: Full text of US ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Images and Video
-
Vanderbilt Television news archive:
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only. -
Vintage Ad Browser
Vintage graphic ads from the late 19th century to the early 21st century: browse through categories from alcohol, guns and tobacco to computers, perfume and propaganda. -
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
- AdViews: A digital archive of Vintage Television Commercials
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library. Requires iTunes for viewing video.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Includes over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
Blogs, etc
-
Technorati Blog Directory
Search for blogs on a specific topic. Then look at their archives to find past year. -
Google Blogs
Search for blogs on a specific topic, as well as posts on a specific topic. - Google Advance Search
Use the search within a site or domain, to search for keywords just from one site/blog - Open Book
Searches for keywords on public Facebook profiles; downside you can't control the time frame
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Social Sciences & Humanities Library University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R La Jolla, CA 92093-0175 858.822.2346 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Communication |


Loading...
