This is the "Find Articles" page of the "CHEM 188: Science Education Capstone" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 188: Science Education Capstone   Tags: chemistry, chemistry_courses, science_education  

Resources to help you find articles and background material for your science capstone project. Shortcut: libguides.ucsd.edu/chem188.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2014 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/chem188 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Wireless & Off-Campus Access

Set up your computer to access these information resources on or off-campus.

More Databases for Science Education Articles

Additional databases that cover the education journal literature.

  • Education Source
    Indexes 2,850+ academic periodicals in education, with full text for more than 1,800 journals.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Multidisciplinary database indexing journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis on the sciences; articles linked by bibliographies; no full-text, but uses UC-eLinks.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Search engine of scholarly articles. Can work for "quick and dirty" searches, but poor for comprehensive searching. Very hard to sort/limit/refine search results. Will need proxy/VPN to get to most articles.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Contains articles from over 11,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines. Many of the articles are full-text, HTML and/or PDF.
 

For Journal Articles, Start with ERIC

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the key index to the educational literature, with citations and abstracts to journal articles and other documents like books, reports and conference papers.

  • You can limit your search to journal articles only. These records will have accession numbers that begin with EJ. You can also limit to peer-reviewed journal articles, and even by education level: higher education, high schools, elementary education, etc.

  • Use the UC-eLinks to see if we have the article online or in print. You'll also get a link to request the article via interlibrary loan if UCSD does not have the article.

  • ERIC has its own list of subject headings/descriptors (Thesaurus) to help you find articles on the same topic. You can search or browse the Thesaurus to search on those headings, or look at the descriptors assigned to a particular record and search from there.
 

Documents (ED) in ERIC

ERIC also indexes non-journal content, including conference papers and book chapters. These have accession numbers that begin with ED (vs. EJ for journal articles). These are usually available from ERIC in PDF form. However, due to concerns about privacy issues:

ONLINE ACCESS TO SOME ERIC DOCUMENTS HAS BEEN DISABLED. 

  • From ERIC, use the UC-eLinks to get to the actual ERIC documents website. If you can open and download the PDF, you've got it.

  • If the full text is not available, here are your options.
    • We have the ERIC documents on microfiche, ED 014313 - ED 483046 (1967 to July 2004). Staff are available on the 2nd floor of Geisel East to assist you with printing and/or scanning the fiche.

    • Look for a print copy of the document: starting with Roger. If you can find a copy at another library via Circuit or Worldcat (and we do not have it on microfiche), you can request it.

      • You can search for dissertations here and download it if it's a UC paper from 1996 or later. Otherwise, submit an interlibrary loan request.
      • When you submit any request, include the ED number.
      • With many documents like the conference papers, they are only available as ERIC microfiche. However, you can still request the fiche if we don't have what you need.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Teri Vogel
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip