A great way to keep up with News is to use BrowZine to create customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and News Sources (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com), through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices.
Tijuana's Independent Newspaper Zeta known for its critical political and cultural commentary and its cultural supplements is microfilmed at UCSD.
The microfilm for 1984-2011 is available on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing (in the microfilm drawer -- call # XF 1865)
Recent print editions are available in the Current Newspapers area also on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing
For other editions, ask at the Research Assistance Desk to see issues in the Bindery. These are for in-library use only.
Online access to UCSD affiliates is available for:
Microfilm access is available for issues from 1871-present. The newspaper has gone through various name changes, but all are together at call number XF 248. Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues.
lists many different news sites, most offering some free content.
Latin American Newspapers (Zona Latina)
list by country of newspaper web sites, some with free content
Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive
Full text of more than 200 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th early 20th century from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Covers period 1805 through 1922 only.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Includes many newspapers providing information about U.S. Latin American relations (from a North American perspective). Please note that clicking on the link above will bring out to a page listing the 52 newspapers from United States, Canada, and beyond, including Chinese, African American, and Jewish titles. To get to a specific newspaper, click on the three bars in the top left, scroll down to publications, and either search for the publication you want or select the letter it begins with.
Alternatively, major national dailies can be accessed directly:
New York Times (1851-present)
Los Angeles Times (1881-present)
Washington Post (1877-present)
The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010) 
The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011)
California Digital Newspaper Project
Coordinates preservation of California newspapers printed since 1846. Catalog shows publishing history and library locations for nearly 13,000 papers. Part of the state-by-state U.S. Newspaper Project. Based at UC Riverside.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index
1975-1996. Index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government on political, economic, scientific and cultural issues and events worldwide. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online
Full Text access to periodicals accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944) as well as additional items held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. Materials pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist Latin American labor movement (1890-1920).
Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries by Charno, Steven M.
Call Number: Reference Geisel 2 W and Geisel 1 E Z 6947.L36
Publication Date: Austin : Published for the Conference on Latin American History by the University of Texas Press, [1969, ©1968]
The Center for Research Libraries provides online access to this resource to members.
[Argentina] Archivo Historico RTA (Radio y Televisión Argentina)
El RTA ordena, preserva, digitaliza y pone en estado público el material audiovisual y sonoro que fuera tanto grabado como emitido por Canal 7 y Radio Nacional en Argentina. Prisma es su sitio web, que hace posible la democratización del acceso al acervo audiovisual y sonoro del Archivo Histórico de RTA. También, Prisma provea información contextual muy util sobre su contenido.
The Historic Archive of RTA (Radio and Television Argentina) organizes, preserves, and digitizes audiovisual and sound material recorded and distributed on Argentina’s Channel 7 and National Radio. Prisma is its website, which facilitates democratic, public access to tue audiovisiual and sound collections of the Historic Archive of RTA. Prisma provides rich contextual information about its content as well.
[Caribbean] Digital Library of the Caribbean (DLOC) includes a significant number of scanned, historical newspapers from Caribbean countries. To limit to a certain kind of material (in this case newspapers, click on the types link across the top of the site, select your format (IE newspapers) and then keyword search -- using the default (basic search) or advanced search (from the drop-down "other searches" menu). It is likely helpful to use the sort drop-down to list the items by "oldest [date] first"
[Mexico] Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th century
Call Number: Microforms, Geisel Floor 2 West XF 2769
Microfilm collection of nineteenth-century Mexican newspapers. See also guide: Microform Guides, Geisel Floor 2 W XF 2769
[Mexico] Revolutionary Mexico in newspapers, 1900-1929 (E-version, Microfilm Details Below)
Guide to the microfilm set by Adán Benavides and Agnes L. McAlester
Call Number: Geisel Floor6 F1234 .R492 2002
Publication Date: [Austin, Tex.] : Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, General Libraries, University of Texas at Austin, 2002
Use guide with: Microforms, Geisel Floor2 West XF 2769 (Includes Independent Mexico in Newspapers and Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers)
[Spain] Digital Periodical and Newspaper Library
Factiva is an EXCELLENT resource containing a broad collection of newspapers and periodicals. However, searching in this database is a bit less intuitive than some -- so here are some pointers:
1. Select UC San Diego (assuming you are an affiliate; you will not be able to use Factiva if you are not a UC affiliate)
2. Click on the Search button along the horizontal line and select "search builder" from the drop-down
3. To search Factiva effectively, IT IS ESSENTIAL TO (IE MAKE MAKE SURE THAT) YOU USE BOOLEAN SEARCH TERMS (scroll down on this linked page to find a primer/reminder)!!!
4. To see if Factiva includes a particular source in its collection, click on the "source" option and then search for the particular source by typing its name in the search box
Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)
Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners.
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. Consequently, also useful for following news on the ways that various "development" projects affect the environment and peoples living in the affected area. Important Access Information:
IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BNA AMERICAS: (1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.
Economist Intelligence Unit Portal
Searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance and news in Latin America and other regions. From the main page, select country or countries then news sources. Selected full text of many important newspapers.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Provides access to over 1000 global and local newspapers, 3000 journals and magazines, in 22 languages. Includes selected full text of some major Latin American newspapers. You can limit your search to newspapers by world region and country.
Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.
1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time
Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. 1986-2018.
Online archive and feed of the Latin American Newsletters (London) family of political economic news and analysis publications - also known as Latin American Intelligence Service. Earliest coverage reaches back to 1967.
Los Angeles Times (1881-Present)
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
thousands of full-text sources, including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, trade journals, and some legal information. Coverage dates vary. Includes partial full text from some Latin American news sources and magazines
Online news service obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, newswires, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage 1994-2013. Successor to FBIS.
World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.
