Market Research & Entrepreneurship: Latest Entrepreneurship Books

The next crisis might be here now, or it might be around the corner. In this book, two history-making experts in crisis leadership--James, dean of The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, and Wooten, president of Simmons University--forcefully argue that the time to prepare is always. They bring decades of world-renowned research on crisis leadership, diversity and inclusion, management strategy, and positive leadership to the table to help leaders better prepare themselves to lead through crises--and for whatever lies around the corner.

Discover how to implement consumer-centric innovation to help create new product development in this latest edition.

Grounded in extensive research and field testing, this book presents a concise problem-solving approach to developing a unique business concept. Step-by-step guidelines provide insight into exploring market problem spaces, uncovering overlooked opportunities, reframing customer problems, creating business solutions, and sustaining success and an entrepreneurial culture. Drawing on methodologies from the world of design, the book helps students of entrepreneurship fill in the missing piece that transforms opportunity recognition into a viable business concept. Plenty of useful diagrams help to organize key concepts, making them easily accessible to readers. This second edition has been updated to include social entrepreneurship, more international examples and enhanced support materials.

The future will bring only more megatrends and disruptions. With the guidance of this book, which centers around the authors' years-of-research-backed high-performance organizations (HPO) framework and includes the unique self-assessment tool Futurize! This book will help business leaders and organizations set priorities and make decisions so that not only do they honor commitments to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, but also become more future ready.

This book helps students develop entrepreneurial skills, whether they seek to become entrepreneurs or employees. It focuses on the entrepreneurial start-up process, by taking the reader through the steps of selecting, planning, financing, and controlling the new venture. The authors cover multiple forms of new ventures, as well as ways to utilize entrepreneurial skills in other contexts, encouraging students to engage with the material and apply it to their lives in ways that make sense for them. Skill development features include: analyzing the lean entrepreneurship option, elevator pitches, business plans, case studies and entrepreneurial profiles. Arranged to be useful as a textbook, to both students and instructors.

This book, one of three in a series looking at complexity and management, brings together the authors’ experiences to provide vibrant accounts of how to lead in everyday situations using practical judgement. The book includes a brief historical introduction to complexity and leadership, real-world narratives illustrating concrete dilemmas in the workplace, and a concluding chapter that draws together the practical and theoretical implications. It includes both theoretical grounding and practical insights from managers and consultants in leading firms.

The Fourth Industrial Revolution, also known as Industry 4.0, refers to the industrial paradigm bringing together the digital and physical worlds through the cyber-physical Systems, enhanced by the Internet of Things aimed to increase the effectiveness of human-machine cooperation (HMC). This book deals with issues related to the challenges of Industry 4.0 that are faced by enterprises and universities. Topics include human resources management, marketing, technology enhancements and IT systems, and range from discussion of managing multi-national teams to product customization to IoT and RFID systems, and much more.

This book offers a business-focused overview of the applications of data analytics and machine learning to supply chain management. The text is accessible yet rigorous, and introduces readers to the relevant concepts and techniques needed for data analysis and decision making in modern supply chains and enables them to develop proficiency in a popular and powerful programming software. Each chapter comes with practical real-world examples drawn from a range of business contexts.

The author combines his background in developing and implementing AI with scholarly research on knowledge and cultivating talent to address misconceptions about AI. The book explains what AI can and cannot do, carefully delineating facts from beliefs or wishful thinking, and is filled with examples and coverage of ethical issues CEOs should be aware of.

This book provides a broad overview of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) models on supply chain operations in industry 4.0. The chapters illustrate the AI and ML models for all functional areas of operations in SCM. The book also includes examples using ML models like handling supply-to-demand imbalances, triggering automated responses, and reinforcing customer relationships. It describes the evolution of blockchain technology coupled with the ability to automate business logic for the transparency of goods, infrastructure, products, and licenses in software.

This book is a comprehensive review of the current methodologies used to value Early Stage Enterprises (ESEs) at fair value for financial reporting, investment, and mergers and acquisitions. It examines how to apply market analysis, discounted cash flows models, statistical techniques such as option pricing models (OPM) and Monte Carlo simulation, the venture capital method and non-GAAP metrics to ESE valuation. The text considers the most recent AICPA, Appraisal Foundation and IPEV guidance, real-world case studies, and examines developments in both academic research and venture capital investor practice.

No matter where you are in the business creation process, using this tool, you’ll be able to build a brand from scratch that you can enthusiastically and effectively implement in real time. This book takes you through each of the simple yet thought-provoking questions of the tool to develop your strategy, including considering audience insight, assessing benefits, creating a positioning statement, and identifying key messages. You will explore real-world case studies along the way and build a message map that ensures your organization drives home a consistent, clear, and authentic message to your target audience.

This edition introduces the world of new and emerging ventures and the fundamentals of effective new venture management, including such diverse activities as planning, marketing, financing, and growth. It’s divided into four distinct parts, guiding readers through the entire new venture management process and focusing in turn on ideas and opportunities, planning, finance, and management challenges. It covers Lean Startup methodology, team development, crowdfunding, scaling challenges, and business ethics.

Bringing much needed clarity and definition to the term 'minority entrepreneur,' this authoritative and scholarly handbook explores the distinctive challenges that minority communities face when founding and managing new ventures. The handbook is inclusive of any community who might be considered disadvantaged or under-represented in terms of entrepreneurial activity and includes women, youths, seniors, disabled, immigrants, Indigenous peoples, LBGTQ+, ex-offenders, Roma, refugees and many others. Its chapters highlight the idiosyncratic nature of the many communities, discusses the literature of minority entrepreneurship, addresses the under-researched areas of entrepreneurial behavior among minorities and disadvantaged groups, and offers new frameworks/models from which future researchers can build new knowledge. The handbook is comprehensive and covers a fast-emerging field of entrepreneurship. It is intended for an audience of students, researchers and policymakers.

Entrepreneurship is now unanimously considered a major engine for socio-economic development, mainly because it creates jobs and innovation. Governments around the world pay special attention to removing entrepreneurial barriers in order to support development via different policies, especially entrepreneurial finance. This book provides a systematic and profound understanding of how finance, entrepreneurship, innovation, and their interactions contribute to economic development in DETEs, which cover a large number of countries in Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America, and Africa.

This book is a solid reference point for all who are interested in conducting research on entrepreneurial education or engaged in teaching entrepreneurship. It is a compendium of knowledge about entrepreneurial education as a research field, seen from the perspective of the last four decades, its complete contemporary history.

Practicing business with a conscience leaves no sector untouched. It trickles into how we treat our employees, approach our work, address stakeholders, engage in business processes, communicate and market what we stand for. This book brings together contributing scholars from multiple business areas, from a variety of cultures and locations of the world, in order to achieve the compilation of a reference work that will find an expansive appeal. It will be of great value to researchers, academics, practitioners, and students in corporate social responsibility, business ethics, leadership, organizational studies, and entrepreneurship.

This book explores several entrepreneurship trajectories recognized by economists, and shows how entrepreneurial growth paths, business models and types of entrepreneurial opportunity are interrelated. The author uses case studies and data to discuss theoretical and empirical models.

This item addresses the need for additional and robust intellectual foundations in entrepreneurship education, both at theoretical and methodological levels. The authors show that it is essential to connect entrepreneurship education more firmly with societal demands. Identifying two key issues, the eminent authors first question what the current pedagogies and practices in entrepreneurship education are. Secondly, the authors question what is known about the relevancy, usefulness and efficiency of the current practices in entrepreneurship education.

This book draws attention to the classic, seminal articles in entrepreneurship that have made profound contributions to the field's emergence, development, and maturity. In each chapter, a classic is identified, ideas contained therein that are still relevant to the field are discussed, and subsequently follow-up research that is being conducted based on these ideas is highlighted, including possible areas of future research. Scholars will embrace this systematic effort to identify and reveal the contribution of classic articles in entrepreneurship research and their impact on subsequent scholarship.

This Handbook is a comprehensive volume that addresses the most important topics related to collaboration and connects them to unique challenges and opportunities related to entrepreneurship. Bringing together leading scholars from both areas, the volume takes stock of the current literature and aims to advance this body of research by highlighting the role that collaboration plays in value creation, resource acquisition, and the development of entrepreneurial ventures.

This author, a renowned Silicon Valley veteran, delivers an expert guide for entrepreneurs and founders seeking to maintain as much ownership stake as possible in the companies they create as they move through the various stages of the financing process. Learn about how to finance your company's growth without losing your stake in it.