LibGuides: NanoEngineering (older version): Books / Ebooks / Dissertations

We have an extensive collection of books (print and ebooks) that cover nanotechology and related disciplines.

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online, or peer-reviewed articles. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search for articles, use databases like Web of Science or SciFinderⁿ.

Looking for Dissertations?

Use UC Library Search to find dissertations and theses by UC San Diego and UC students. Limit results by selecting Dissertations from the Resource Type facet. Most UC dissertations from 1996 to date are freely available in the UC eScholarship repository.

Use Dissertations and Theses to find dissertations from other universities. If the dissertations is available full text, go ahead and download it.

If it's not, you might want to Google it first since many universities have made their theses and dissertations freely available.
If you can't find the full text, use the button in the Dissertations and Theses record to request a copy through interlibrary loan.

Key Nano Ebook Collections at UCSD

Key UCSD ebook collections with nanotechnology titles. You can search for titles in Roger or search title/full-text at the publisher websites.

If you search at the publisher websites, expect large sets of search results, due to the full-text book searching (and journals if applicable). Searches have to be more specific.
Unless otherwise specified, we don't have access to all ebooks from a particular publisher. Check the catalog for a print copy, or request via Interlibrary Loan.

Science Direct / Elsevier
Extensive science and engineering ebook collection from Elsevier, including their other imprints like Academic Press and Woodhead [2012 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years].
Springer
Ebook collection heavy with titles in nanotechnology, materials science and related subjects. Includes a large number of handbooks: Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology, Handbook of Nanoparticles, Handbook of Polymer and Ceramic Nanotechnology, etc. Some books can be purchased for individual use for $25. [2012 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years and many series back to vol. 1]
Wiley Online Library
One of our larger ebook collections, with heavy science/engineering coverage [2011 to present, with selected titles from earlier years].
CRCnetBASE (now Taylor & Francis)
CRC Press' ebook collections for science and engineering, (now available on the Taylor & Francis website). [Access varies depending on collection. Some like the NANOnetBASE collections are 2017 to present, but the core ENGnetBASE collection goes back to the 1990s]
O'Reilly for Higher Education
48,000+ computing and IT ebooks, videos, case studies, and interactive tutorials from O'Reilly, plus books from additional IT and engineering publishers. Covers business, desktop/web applications, data science/management, digital media, engineering, information technology/software development & architecture, math & science, and personal/professional development. ** To connect, select UCSD from the institutions, then login with your AD username/password. **
Access Engineering
Database of 830+ McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Includes Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, plus some nanotechnology/nanomaterials titles, (Also called AccessEngineering)
Royal Society of Chemistry
RSC ebooks collection of chemistry and related titles in chemical engineering and industrial chemistry, materials/polymers; nanoscience; biomolecular and biomedicine, environmental and food sciences; pharmacology, toxicology, and drug discovery. Includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts. [1968 to present]
American Chemical Society Symposium Series
Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings, covering topics in chemistry and related subjects, including nanotechnology and materials science. [1950 to present]
Knovel
7.200+ texts, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases for chemistry and engineering. Unlike these other collections, Knovel searches across multiple publishers. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data; accessed through the Property Search option.
Cambridge University Press
Contains fewer, but still quality nanotechnology and material science books in their STEM collection. The full-text search would also include the Materials Research Society online proceedings. [2012 to present, with selected coverage of earlier years and full coverage of MRS]