This page is your starting point for finding databases, websites and other digital collections for Communication. You'll find key sites especially useful for research or rewarding to browse: core databases for finding articles, news sites, reference tools, streaming video, much more.
Also discover newly received books in Communication and other subjects; subscribe to a regular news feed or browse an Archive of New Books Lists (last update 2011)
Here is a sample of resources that may be especially useful or interesting. Use the tabs at the top of the page to browse others. And if you are on the UCSD campus, take time to view the sculpture to the right, located outside the Communication and Media Building.
- Communication Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies). [Full Description]
- Access World News
More than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services, BBC news digests
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only. From the video archives maintained by Vanderbilt University.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Over 3,800 articles spread over broad subject areas from Adolescence and Youth to Urban Studies; 100 separate articles under Media alone.
- Encyclopedia of Journalism
All dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, Internet; US & international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues & court cases; ownership & economics. Published 2009 under direction of Christopher Sterling. Print version is 6 volumes
- American Memory
Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound. More than 150 collections and growing.
- American History in Video
Coverage of historical events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage. When finished will include 1200 titles, 2000 hours of video.
- Internet Archive: Moving Images
Movies from the Prelinger Archive showing American everyday life, culture, industry, and institutions in the 20thC. Downloadable MPEG-2.
A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. A project of the Duke University Library. Requires iTunes for viewing video.
- Living Room Candidate: A History of Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
Can't wait for 2012? See video of presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2008. More than 300 digitized commercials are presented, along with analysis, historical background, and results from each election.
- UCSD Dissertations in Communication
Dissertations by students awarded a Ph.D. by the UCSD Communication Department, since the first one completed in 1992. From 1997 to present also available online for UC students and staff.
- Library Resources for Communication Studies
Lists resources & links for the diverse fields of Communication: news, indexes, organizations, subject guides (advertising, journalism, media diversity, media law, new media, political communication, etc). Maintained by American Library Association Committee on Electronic Resources in Communication Studies
- Dissertations and Theses
1861-present. Database of citations to doctoral dissertations & master's theses from 1,000+ universities. Full-text of most UC dissertations published 1996 and later. Most others available on Interlibrary Loan.