LibGuides: International Physicians' Information: Freely Available Resources

Databases

African Index Medicus
African Journals Online
International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications
PubMed
Clinical Trials
TRIP Database
A meta-search engine of evidence-based resources. Most results are available in free full-text.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
A new tool for finding national or international guidelines from different organizations on various topics. Sign up for the free account.
Medscape
One time registration is required, but access is free. An alternative to Up to Date and it also has a medical news feed.
Google Scholar
Be sure to use "all x version" to look for freely available copies.

Free Books for Doctors
NCBI Bookshelf
Merck Medicus
Free Medical Journals
Some journals have embargo periods of 6 - 12 months while others have current editions available for free. Most journals start their online availability with mid-1990's volumes, but a few have a larger archive available.
Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides a listing of journals with free access. Also of note for authors is whether there is a publishing fee or not.

Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information from MedlinePlus
Prescription and over the counter information comes from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information, and information on herbs and supplements comess from Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Consumer Version.
DailyMed: FDA Approved Drug Labels
A large resource for finding up-to-date information from medication package inserts.
ePocrates
A smaller version of their purchased product is available - use the free mobile app or look up info via a computer.
NIH Drug Information Portal
The portal collects information from PubChem, Toxnet, HSDB, and more. Search by name or category.
Toxnet
A resource that provides bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals with over 4 million citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers.

MedlinePlus.gov
The National Library of Medicine's consumer health site offering information on many health topics, drug information, directories, dictionary and more. Additional features are the Spanish-language site, and finding information in a variety of languages.
WebMD
Mayo Clinic
A great information resource designed for non-health professionals. Information provided in English only.