Guide to Philosophy Resources at SSHL
Our collections are tailored to meet the current and ongoing research and instructional needs of faculty and students in the Department of Philosophy. These areas include the history of philosophy, philosophy of science, ethics, metaphysics and epistemology, with particular emphasis on the Greek and Classical traditions, the Early Modern period, German idealism and theory, and the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. Our collections are also quite interdisciplinary as they overlap into areas represented by both UCSD's Science Studies Program and the Cognitive Science Program.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, it monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives and personal pages hosted by academics.
- Philosopher's Index
This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The online, expanded and updated version of the 1998 print edition. Contains subject guides, links to new articles and updates, and full text search capability.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is a work in progress and not all of the approximately 600 terms have entries. It is searchable by topic, and essays are written by experts in the field.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
- Project Muse
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
UC San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive 0175C
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Phone (858) 534-6443Send Email