LibGuides: History of Science: Find Articles

Core Databases for History of Science and Medicine
Some database descriptions include the dates of subject coverage and/or how far back they go in terms of indexing journals.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Historical Abstracts
Authoritative international database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Journal coverage goes back to 1955.
America: History and Life
Indexes journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Journal coverage back to 1910.
Combined EBSCO Search
This will allow you to select multiple databases to search on the EBSCO platform that relate to the history of science and medicine.
more...less...
You could search History of Science, Technology and Medicine, and Historical Abstracts, and America: History & Life. Other databases to consider: Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective, Applied Science & Technology, ATLA, Bibliography of Asian Studies, Bibliography of Native North Americans, along with other humanities and social sciences databases.
Google Scholar
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases. Using Google Scholar Advanced Search (1-min video)

PubMed
The premier database for searching the biomedical literature. To focus your search on topics related to the history of medicine, include AND history [sb] to your search, like plague AND history [sb]. This will 1) automatically search on multiple iterations of history (histories, historical, biography, etc), while excluding articles on case, patient, or family history.
JSTOR
Full-text database of scholarly journals and books, including titles covering the history of science and technology. NOTE: Coverage of the journals usually goes back to the first issue, but the most recent 3-5 years of articles are generally not available.
Project Muse
Full-text collection of 700+ journals and 18,000+ books in the humanities and social sciences (including history of science and history of medicine).
Web of Science
Indexes 18,000+ journals and 180,000 conference proceedings, heavily in the sciences and engineering, but it also indexes humanities and social science journals and books (including history and philosophy of science). Easy interface for building and/or searches to include alternative keywords. Article records include cited and citing references, with related articles identified based on common citations.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text + Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
Database of science and business periodical publications going back to 1913. Full text of some articles going back to 1997.

Catalogue of Scientific Papers
An author index to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals, and other periodical works.. Vol. 1-6 cover 1800-1863, Vol. 7-8 cover 1864-1873, Vol. 9-11 cover 1874-1883. Vol. 12 is a cumulative index, and Vol. 13-19 cover 1884-1900. You can search within the text of particular volumes, and UCSD affiliates can login to download volumes as PDFs. A subject index is also available. The print copy is in the Library's Indexes collection in Geisel 1 East (Q158 .R812 1965 and Q158 R8122 1965).
American Periodicals
Full-text database of American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals
Full-text database of British periodicals from 1681-2005.

Looking for Dissertations?

Dissertations and Theses
2 million+ dissertations and theses issued by graduate institutions in North America and beyond from 1861 to the present. Most UC dissertations from 1997-present are available; others are open access or can be requested via interlibrary loan (unless embargoed).

Looking for Newspapers?

We have an extensive collection of historical newspapers, including:

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full search of the newspapers in the ProQuest collection, including the 5 major US dailies and some Canadian/European newspapers.
Gale Historical Newspapers
Portal to archives for the Times of London, Economist, Financial Times, and US newspaper collections of the 17th/18th and 19th centuries.