UCSD Resources
UCSD Library Resources
- Patent Resource Page - List of resources from the Science & Engineering Library, some of which are restricted to UCSD affiliates.
- Books and Journals in the UCSD Libraries on Patents and Patenting
UCSD Resources
- Technology Transfer Office- UCSD's patent and licensing department
- Von Liebig Center - Advisory services and seed funding for commercializing UCSD inventions
US Patent & Trademark Office
US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) Resources
- General Information Concerning Patents- Good overview of patenting basics
- Frequently Asked Questions About Patents (FAQ)
- Inventor Resources - Designed specifically for independent inventors
- Search the USPTO patent database- For granted patents and patent applications
- Manual of Patent Classification
- \"Kind\" Codes - What does A1 or B1 mean after the patent number?
- Schedule of Fees - What does it cost to get a patent?
International Patents
International Patent Resources
- European Patent Office (EPO) Website- General information about the EPO
- esp@cenet - The EPO patent database - Search worldwide patents
- EPO Member States - Participating countries in the European Patent Organization
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
- Patentscope - Search WIPO patent applications
- International Patent Country Codes
Other Free Patent Websites
Other Free Patent Websites
- Google Patents - Google's beta US patent search site
- pat2pdf.org - Free patent printing site (US only)
- Free Patents Online - Full text of U.S. patents back to 1974. Full patent downloads in PDF format.
- Patents.com - Includes full text of US and European patents.
- Patent Lens - Includes US patents from 1976 on. Also European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from US, World, and Australia.
- Comparison of free patent databases
-
- Librarian blogger Michael White compared the quality of 5 free online patent search engines on several search criteria. Bottom line - Beware of Google Patents!
- MIT Library comparison of 4 free patent databases by severial features/criteria.
Other Patent Resources
Other Resources
- Lemelson MIT Inventor's Handbook
- Wacky Patents - Who knew?
- Crazy Patents - Ditto
- Patently Silly - Unique? Useful? Unobvious?
- Patently O blog - "The nation's leading patent law blog"
- Intellogist - free website for patent searchers, provides sources of patent information, comparisons of free and fee-based patent databases, best practices in patent searching, etc.
Contact Me |
Susan Shepherd
Useful links
Patent workshops are offered quarterly for UCSD faculty and staff through Staff Education & Development. If you are a student and wish to take this workshop, contact me at sushepherd@ucsd.edu
Please don't hesitate to ask for assistance in finding information. That's what we're here for.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait