Political Science: Interest Groups + Data

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations

Washington Information Directory is the essential one-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations. This thoroughly researched guide provides capsule descriptions that help users quickly and easily find the right person at the right organization. Washington Information Directory offers three easy ways to find information: by name, by organization, and through detailed subject indexes. It also includes dozens of resource boxes on particular topics and organization charts for federal agencies and NGOs. With more than 10,000 listings, the 2013- 2014 edition of Washington Information Directory features contact information for: Congress Federal agencies Nongovernmental organizations Policy groups, foundations, and institutions Governors and other state officials U.S. ambassadors and foreign diplomats Find what organizations are working on the topic of your interest in Washington, DC, within the chapters arranged alphabetically by subject: Agriculture, Food, and Nutrition Business and Economics Communications and the Media Culture and Religion Education Employment and Labor Energy Environment and Natural Resources Health Housing and Development International Affairs Law and Justice Military Personnel and Veterans National and Homeland Security Science and Technology Social Services and Disabilities Transportation U.S. Congress and Politics

New Edition Contains more than 7,650 entries describing the activities and personnel of groups and committees that function to advise the President of the United States and various departments and bureaus of the federal government, as well as detailed information about historically significant committees.

The growing need for a concise and comprehensive overview of the world of interest groups, lobbying, and public affairs called for a compendium of existing research, key theories, concepts, and case studies. This project is the first transnational encyclopedia to offer such an interdisciplinary and wide overview of these topics, including perspectives on public relations, crisis management, communication studies, as well as political science, political marketing, and policy studies. It is an interdisciplinary work, which involved an extraordinary pool of contributors made up of leading scholars and practitioners from all around the globe; it is a live and evolving project focused on drawing together grounded international knowledge for our diverse and developing world. The 200+ entries of the Palgrave Encyclopedia of Interest Groups, Lobbying and Public Affairs (to be found as a live reference work online here, and in two print volumes in 2022) address these research avenues, tackling a growing demand for a comprehensive international reference work regarding key global sectors and policymaking structures, looking beyond the traditional markets of Europe and North America to incorporate practice and research from Asia, Africa, Oceania, and Latin America. This encyclopedia acts as a synthesis of existing research, and aims to aid academics, students, and practitioners navigate their relevant fields around the globe.

Interest Groups and Lobbying shows how political organizations and their lobbyists play a crucial role in how policy is made in the United States. It cuts through the myths and misconceptions about interest groups and lobbyists with an accessible and comprehensive text supported by real world examples and the latest research. New to the Second Edition * Fully updates and expands the discussion of social media and other online activity engaged in by interest groups, showing that they have become more sophisticated in their use of the internet - especially social media - for keeping current members informed and for their advocacy work. * New case studies on more recent advocacy efforts. * Updated data used in the book, including: * Total number and types of interest groups lobbying in Washington, DC * Total number and types of interest groups lobbying in the fifty states * Data on campaign contributions * Data on amicus briefs and case sponsorship * Data on stages of the lawmaking process where interest groups appear to lobby the most * New data on revolving-door lobbyists

Interest Group Politics is the only comprehensive collection of articles on interest groups and lobbying written for undergraduates. The tenth edition offers 15 new contributions on a variety of topics, including classic analyses of how groups organize and seek to affect public policy, emerging trends such as the growth of transgender groups, and fresh studies that examine how lobbying has evolved in the Trump era. No other text or reader provides the breath of coverage or the strength of detail in exploring the world of organized interests, from their internal structure to their electoral politics to their lobbying activities. The talented scholars in this edition, like those in previous volumes, continue to seek answers to a host of questions as to how groups evolve, how they compete with similar groups, how they influence elections, and how they lobby--across a wide range of issues.

Democratic elections do not always deliver what majorities want. Many conclude from frustrated majorities a failure of democracy. This book argues the opposite may be true - that politicians who represent their constituents sometimes frustrate majorities. A theory of issue intensity explains how the intensity with which different voters care about political issues drives key features of elections, political participation, representation, and public policy. Because candidates for office are more certain of winning the votes of those who care intensely, they sometimes side with an intense minority over a less intense majority. Voters who care intensely communicate their intensity by taking political action: volunteering, contributing, and speaking out. From questions like whose voices should matter in a democracy to whose voices actually matter, this rigorous book blends ideas from democratic theory and formal political economy with new empirical evidence to tackle a topic of central importance to American politics.tics.tics.tics.

The Oxford Handbooks of American Politics is an eight-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of scholarship on American politics. Each volume focuses on a particular aspect of the field. The project is under the General Editorship of George C. Edwards III, and distinguished specialists in their respective fields edit each volume. The handbooks aim not just to report on the discipline, but also to shape it as scholars critically assess the current state of scholarship on a topic and propose directions in which it needs to move. The series is an indispensable reference for anyone working in American politics. The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups is a major new volume that will help scholars assess the current state of scholarship on parties and interest groups and the directions in which it needs to move. Never before has the academic literature on political parties received such anextended treatment. Twenty nine chapters critically assess both the major contributions to the literature and the ways in which it has developed. With contributions from most of the leading scholars in the field, the volume provides a definitive point of reference for all those working in and around the area. Equally important, the authors also identify areas of new and interesting research. These chapters offer a distinctive point of view, an argument about the successes and failures of pastscholarship, and a set of recommendations about how future work ought to develop. This volume will help set the agenda for research on political parties and interest groups for the next decade. General Editor for The Oxford Handbooks of American Politics: George C. Edwards III