U.S. Historical Newspapers: Individual Newspapers

Availability: Some of these newspapers are available online; some are partly online, partly on microfilm; and some are only on microfilm. Many of those online can be used from off campus only by UCSD students or staff https://library.ucsd.edu/computing-and-technology/connect-from-off-campus/index.html.

Links to catalog records will show microfilm location and, where available, online. The online papers can be viewed from anywhere on campus and from off campus using the settings for remote access: https://library.ucsd.edu/computing-and-technology/connect-from-off-campus/index.html. Microfilm can be viewed on reader/printers in the Current Periodicals, Newspapers and Microform Department, though for several papers -- Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post -- a new form called "digital microfilm" can be viewed online.  

Why use microfilm? Many of the historical newspaper databases include full images of every page. But for more recent years, most newspapers are available only in the form of text, not including photos, graphics, advertising, or the look and feel of an actual newspaper. Microfilm, whether using microfilm readers or viewed on computers, includes an image of every page.

San Diego Newspapers:

• Evening Tribune (San Diego) (1895-1924+)
  Full text and page images. Incomplete coverage of years and months within those years during first load of the database. Will eventually expand to 1928.
   
• San Diego Union (1896-1926+)
  Full text and page images. Incomplete coverage of years and months within those years during first load of the database. Will eventually expand back to 1877 and forward to 1983. During earlier years includes earlier names such as San Diego Daily Bee and San Diego Union & Daily Bee.
   
• San Diego Union Tribune    (1984-present) 
  Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, microfilm is available.
   
• San Diego Union (Microfilm)  (1871-present; before 1922 varying names; after 1990 San Diego Union Tribune)
  Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues; however doesn't include the Evening Tribune before the 1990 merger.
  Microfilm XF 248 

Los Angeles Newspapers

• Los Angeles Times (Historical). (1881-1987). 
  Full text, page and article images.
  
  Los Angeles Times (Current) (1985-present). 
  Search and view full text  but no page images.
  Also available on microfilm (1986-2007)
  Microfilm XF 81
  and digital microfilm, 2008-present
   
• Los Angeles Herald and Express (1892-1944)
  Microfilm only. Known under various names, Los Angeles Herald, Evening Herald, Herald, Evening Herald and Express
  Microfilm XF 2429
   
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-October 1941, 1946-2005)
  Full text, page and article images, part of Proquest's Black Historical Newspaper collection.
   
• La Opinion (1933-1996)
  Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues
  Microfilm XF 2181
  Selected full text but no page images from 1992-present through Ethnic Newswatch

Other Cities:

• San Francisco Chronicle (Historical)  (1865-1922; most coverage before 1880 still incomplete)
  Full text, page and article images.
  San Francisco Chronicle (1985-present)
  Selected full text but no page images, online through Newsbank
  Also available on microfilm (1927-1980)
  Microfilm XF 2617
   
• Daily Alta California (San Francisco) (1847-1891)
  Browse online through the California Digital Newspaper collection.
  Also available on microfilm, (1847-1891); newspaper appeared under variations of the name.
  Microfilm XF 2192)
   
• Sacramento Bee (1895-1983).
  Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues
  Microfilm XF 2691
  Sacramento Bee (1984-present)
  Selected full text but no page images, online through Newsbank.

Atlanta Constitution (1868-1897)
Microfilm XF 2105
Atlanta Constitution (1985-current)
Selected full text, but no page images through Newsbank

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Full text, page and article images. Part of Proquest's Black Historical Newspapers collection  

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902). Edited by Walt Whitman from 1846-1848. 

Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Full text, page and article images. Part of Proquest's Black Studies Center. 

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (1849-1987)
Full text, page and article images.
Chicago Tribune  (1986-present)
Selected full text but no page images, through Newsbank.

New Orleans Daily Picayune (1837-1869)
Microfilm XF 2316

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Full text, page and article images. Part of Proquest's Black Historical Newspapers collection

New York Times (Historical) (1851-2007)
Full text, page and article images.
New York Times (Current) (1980-today)
Text only; no page images.
Also available on digital microfilm, 2008-present (latest 2 months not included)

New York Tribune (1842-1922)
Full text, page and article images.

Wall Street Journal (Historical) (1889-1993)
Full text, page and article images.
Wall Street Journal (Current) (1985-present)
Search and view full text, but no page images.
Also available in microfilm, 1994-2008
Microfilm XF 131
and digital microfilm, 2008-present

Washington Post (Historical) (1877-1994)
Full text, page and article images.
Washington Post (1977-present)
Selected full text, no page images, available through Newsbank.
Also available on microfilm, 1995-present
Microfilm XF 292
and digital microfilm, 2008-present