Alphabetical List
- 100 Best Values in Public CollegesFrom Kiplinger.com. Able to sort by many variables, i.e., in-state total costs, student/faculty ratio, room & board cost, etc. Able to select All States or multiple states or schools. View table for comparisons or view each college separately.
- AASHE STARS (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System)Voluntary self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to gauge progress toward sustainability and be recognized for sustainability leadership. Covers colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.
- Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)Also known as "Shanghai Ranking." Published by the Centre for World-Class Universities and the Institute of Higher Education of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China. Includes Top 500 world universities, Top universities by country, Top 100 world universities by field, and Top 100 universities by subject.
- Alumni Factor
Rankings based on alumni feedback from 177 colleges in U.S. Focus is on graduates’ life outcomes such as alumni financial success, intellectual development, career preparation and more. Overall Rankings are based on 15 attributes for each college. Site includes list of Top 177 schools. Guide at $29.95 includes composite ranking of all the colleges. Subscriber access also offered. - America's Best CollegesFrom Forbes. Over 600 undergraduate institutions are included. Able to sort by rank, name of institution, state, cost and size.
- America's Best CollegesFrom U.S. News & World Report. Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Includes 1,600 schools. Includes national university rankings, liberal arts college rankings, regional rankings, and others.
- America's Best Graduate SchoolsFrom U.S. News & World Report. Print edition owned by the library; online edition is abbreviated. Rankings of professional-school programs in business, education, engineering, law and medicine. Also includes rankings of programs in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, and other areas.
- Award Summary: by Top Institutions (Universities)
From the National Science Foundation (NSF.) Lists in order institutions that received the largest portion of NSF Funding. Includes number of awards and amount of funding per award for each institution. - Best...CollegesFrom Princeton Review. Print edition owned by the library and available online. Top 20 ranking lists in eight categories. Each category is divided into lists compiled from their survey questions or assessments. Lists include: Best Classroom Experience, Most Politically Active Students, LGBT-Friendly, Party Schools and more.
- CHE (Centre for Higher Education Development) University RankingFrom Zeit Online. Options include subjects, university towns, Compact ranking, Quick ranking, My ranking and Comparison. Covers higher education institutions (HEIs) in German-speaking countries.
- Canada's Top 50 Research Universities
From RE$EARCH Infosource Inc. Canada's Top 50 Research Universities List is released each fall. Using Statistics Canada data and Canadian University R&D Database, the List ranks universities by their research income. Accompanying the Top 50 List each year are Research Universities of the Year ranking based on a balanced scorecard of input, output and impact measures. - College RankingsFrom Newsweek and The Daily Beast. Includes top 25 least and most affordable, party, least and most rigorous, beautiful, liberal, conservative, happiest, and stressful colleges. Also lists top 25 fraternities and sororities.
- College RankingsFrom Unigo.com. Rankings based on feedback from current college students. Ten lists of top ten schools in various categories such as 10 Best Sports Schools, 10 Safest Schools, etc.
- College RankingsFrom the Washington Monthly. Print edition is owned by the library and available online. Schools ranked on their contribution to the public good in three broad categories: Social Mobility (recruiting and graduating low-income students), Research (producing cutting-edge scholarship and PhDs), and Service (encouraging students to give something back to their country). Choose between liberal arts colleges and national universities.
- College Sustainability Report CardFrom the Sustainable Endowments Institute. The College Sustainability Report Card is also known as the "Green Report Card." Provides sustainability profiles for hundreds of colleges in all 50 U.S. states and Canada. Report Cards from 2007-2011; suspended in 2012.
- Complete university guide
Online guide produced by Constable & Robinson, and Mayfield University Consultants. Ranks United Kingdom (UK) universities by assessing their performance in 9 factors: student satisfaction, research assessment, entry standards, student-to-staff ratio, spending on academic services, spending on student facilities, good honours degrees achieved, graduate prospects, and completion. Tables are available online from 2007-present. - Cool SchoolsFrom Sierra Magazine. Comprised of eight categories: academics, administration, efficiency, energy, food, purchasing, transportation, and waste management.
- Data-based assessment of research-doctorate programs in the United StatesFrom the National Research Council (NRC). Report consists of a descriptive volume, and a comprehensive data table in Excel containing data on characteristics and ranges of rankings for over 5000 programs in 62 fields at 212 institutions. Last NRC report was issued in 1995.
- Data-based assessment of research-doctorate programs in the United StatesPrint version published in 2011.
- Estudio Comparativo de las Universidades Mexicanas (ECUM)From Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico. This is not a rankings site, but an interactive database which compares Mexico's public universities and the top private institutions with each other.
- Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) InitiativeFrom the Australian Research Council (ARC.) The ERA initiative assesses research quality within Australia's higher education institutions.
- Graduate School RankingsFrom PhDs.org. Select from several different "priorities" such as educational quality and outcomes, faculty reputations and activity, tuition and expenses, etc. Over 23,000 programs at more than 2,000 universities are ranked.
- Higher Education Commission, PakistanPakistan's Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) are ranked specifically by category/area of Specialization.
- Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan (HEEACT)Performance ranking of scientific papers for world universities. Includes Top 500 Universities, Top universities by continents or countries, Field and Subject.
- Leiden RankingFrom the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University, The Netherlands. Provides measurements of the scientific impact of universities and of universities’ involvement in scientific collaboration.
- Measuring academic research in Canada: field-normalized academic rankings 2012 /
Published by Higher Education Strategy Associates; Toronto, Canada. - Las Mejores Universidades de Chile - Ranking 2010From AmericaEconomia magazine. Includes list by ranking, course of study, and subrankings by quality of teachers and students.
- Las Mejores Universidades del Peru - Ranking 2010From AmericaEconomia magazine. Includes list by ranking and course of study.
- Most Expensive CollegesFrom CampusGrotto.com. Prices are for one year of education at traditional 4-year undergraduate colleges.
- MyUniversity
Compare Australia's 39 public universities. Interactive, searchable website includes a wide range of indicators. From the Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education, Australia. - National and Global RankingsFrom UCSD, University Communications and Public Affairs Office. UCSD's "National and Global Rankings" are included in the "UC San Diego Campus Profile."
- OEDb's Online College Rankings (Online Education Database)Includes accredited online education programs. Data comprised of eight different metrics: acceptance rate, financial aid, graduation rate, peer Web citations, retention rate, scholarly citations, student-faculty ratio, and years accredited.
- Peace Corps Top CollegesTop 25 Peace Corps volunteer-producing colleges and universities at large, medium and small colleges and universities. Also includes top 5 graduate schools and historical data.
- QS World University RankingsFrom Quacquarelli Symonds Limited. Includes World University Rankings, World University Rankings by Subject, Asian University Rankings, and QS Latin American University Rankings. Another rating system offered by Quacquarelli Symonds is QS Stars. Universities pay to go through an audit process and are awarded with a rating of one to five stars, five stars being the highest rating depending on their performance within the evaluation. New in 2012 is QS Top 50 under 50.
- Ranking Tables of National Institutes of Health (NIH) Funding to US Medical Schools
Compiled by Dr. Roskoski, Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. Data is synthesized from raw NIH data tables into an annual set of reports. Tables list university departments as well as individual researchers by the amounts of their annual NIH grant support. - Ranking Web of World UniversitiesFrom Cybermetrics Lab, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) n Spain. Ranking Web of World Universities also known as "Webometrics Ranking of World Universities." Includes more than 20,000 higher education institutions worldwide. Also includes rankings by region such as U.S. & Canada, Europe, Latin America, Asia, Arab World, etc.
- RankingsFrom Maclean's magazine. Ranking of Canadian universities. Includes three categories: Primarily Undergraduate, Comprehensive and Medical Doctoral universities.
- Rugg's Recommendations on the CollegesPrint edition owned by the library. Two main sections: recommended undergraduate programs and miscellaneous majors. Each section further divided into Most selective, Very selective and Selective colleges.
- SIR - SCImago Institutions RankingsFrom SCImago Research Group with data from Elsevier's database Scopus. Includes Ibero-American ranking (Latin America, Spain and Portugal) and World Report.
- THE Times Higher Education World University RankingsFrom Times Higher Education developed with Thomson-Reuters. Includes Top 400 world universities, Top universities by region, and Top universities by subject. New in 2012 are Top 100 world universities under 50 years old and Top universities by reputation.
- Top American Research UniversitiesFrom The Center for Measuring University Performance. Provides data on over 600 institutions. The Center classifies universities into groups based on nine indicators.
- Top 25 Colleges for HispanicsFrom Hispanic Magazine. Criteria in evaluating schools includes: Hispanic enrollment, graduation rates, financial aid, student-to-faculty ratios, national rankings, options for Latino studies and campus diversity initiatives.
- Top 100 Institutions for HispanicsFrom Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Magazine. Top 100 institutions for Hispanics based on degrees awarded, and Top 10 schools which awarded first degrees arranged by academic program.
- Top 200 Colleges and Universities in the WorldFrom 4 International Colleges & Universities. Includes 10,000 colleges and universities, ranked by web popularity, in 200 countries. Does not rank organizations, or their programs, by the quality of education or level of services provided. It is not an academic ranking. Regions covered are: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, and Oceania.
- U-Multirank
New university ranking system launched by the European Union (EU.) Lead partners for U-Multirank are the Centre for Higher Education in Germany and the Centre for Higher Education Policy Studies in The Netherlands. U-Multirank will rate universities in 5 areas: reputation for research, quality of teaching and learning, international orientation, success in knowledge transfer – such as partnerships with businesses, and start-ups – and contribution to regional growth. Some 500 universities worldwide are expected to sign up to U-Multirank, and the first results will be published in early 2014. - University Autonomy in EuropeThe European University Association's (EUA) interactive online tool allows users to view and compare comprehensive data on university autonomy in Europe. The new tool is based on data collected by EUA for its study "University Autonomy in Europe II: The Scorecard" (November 2011.) This report is available on the tool's website.
- University Ranking by Academic Performance (URAP)From URAP Research Laboratory, Middle East Technical University in Turkey. Their ranking system is based on academic performance which is determined by quality and quantity of scholarly publications.
- World's Best UniversitiesFrom U.S. News & World Report. Based on the QS World University Rankings. Site also includes Top Universities in Asia, Top Universities in Latin America, and Subject Rankings.
Comments (0)
Questions? |
Contact Info Social Sciences & Humanities Library University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R La Jolla, CA 92093-0175 Send Email |

Submit
Loading...
