COSF 184: Mass Media & Politics in Africa (Fall 2011): Home

Welcome!

This guide will help you find resources for you research projects in African mass media. The tabs at the top of the page lead you to 

  • catalog databases for finding books in the UCSD libraries and beyond
  • research databases including
    • general databases that cover many subject areas;
    • specialized databases that focus on Africa and disciplines like communication and political sciences; and
    • news databases and links to African media
  • country studies and yearbooks which cover African countries

If you need further help, we encourage you to

  • visit the Research Assistance Desk in the Social Sciences & Humanities Library; 
  • make an appointment for a research consultation (contact information is to the right)
  • take advantage of our Ask A Librarian email, text and chat service

Useful Information

Reminder: Some databases link directly to full text; when they don't also try UCe-Link to find either electronic or print versions. The gold E-Link button is found in results of most database searches.

Ask a Librarian: Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.

My Library Account: Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more, once you have created your library PIN. There are instructions how to do it on the Account page.

Style and Citation Guides for Research Papers: There are some excellent guides to citation styles on the Web, including ones maintained by the Concordia University ,Dartmouth College and the University of Texas.

The Reference Shelf: A collection of information sources on the web such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, manuals, guides, and other general resources selected and arranged for the use of the UCSD community.


a web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD people.

Subject Guide

Gayatri Singh
Contact:
The UC San Diego Library



9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

858.822.2346
Subjects:Communication

Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD students. When off campus you must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or VPN to use these resources. Click Here for Instructions.