Follow these steps to import PDF files, or folders containing your PDFs, to EndNote:
1. From the File menu select Import.
2. Then select File if you want to import a single PDF, or select Folder to import a folder containing your PDFs.
3. Click on Choose to find the File or Folder to import.
4. Select PDF as the Import Option, and then click the Import button.
Note: EndNote can import PDF files containing a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) in the metadata, or the first 2 pages of the PDF. It uses the free databases PubMed and CrossRef to look up the reference using the DOI, imports the bibliographic information, and then attaches the PDF to that record. Your PDF must have a DOI, and EndNote must have access to the Internet, for this process to be successful.
Finding Full Text:
EndNote has a helpful “Find Full Text” feature that helped automatically capture the full text (PDF) of a reference in your library. To enable EndNote’s ““Find Full Text” feature to work more successfully and allow you to take advantage of the UC licensed resources, you will need to use the “Open URL” setting and add the UC-eLinks address. Copy & paste this information to the Open URL Pathway box:
Also, if you want EndNote to automatically start the find full text process, use the check box at the bottom. A word of caution is that this is a process that takes a while for EndNote to work through - so think about how many citations you bring in at a time. If you have 50 or more and an older, slower computer, you might want to uncheck the box.
Note: Ignore the "Authenticate with" option. It is for a process that UCSD does not use. We use VPN or web proxy when off campus.
OpenURL Arguements under URLs & Links
The folowing OpenURL string is optional, but can help increase your results when using the Find Full Text feature.
Here's what it should look like when you are done: