LibGuides: GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: H

H	Bureau of Legislative Affairs (older link archive; archive2)
HAB	Harmful Algal Blooms \| HIV/AIDS Bureau (older link archive)
HABS	Historic American Buildings Survey (older link archive)
HABSOS	Harmful Algal BloomS Observing System
HAC	Division of Health Care Access and Coverage (older link archive) \| Health Administration Center (absorbed into CBOPC)
HACCP	Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (older link archive)
HAC-TC	Hazard Awareness & Characterization Technology Center
HAER	Historic American Engineering Record (older link archive)
HAFS	Hurricane Forecast Analysis System
HAI	Healthcare-Associated Infection
HAIC	Healthcare-Associated Infections - Community Interface
HALS	Historic American Landscapes Survey (older link archive)
HAMB	HIV and AIDS Malignancy Branch
HAMP	Home Affordable Modification Program
HAN	Health Alert Network
HARB	Healthcare Assessment Research Branch
HARP	Home Affordable Refinance Program (defunct 12/18)
HATS	Halocarbons and other Atmospheric Trace Species Group (older link archive)
HAWQS	Hydrologic and Water Quality System
HAYSTAC	Hidden Activity Signal and Trajectory Anomaly Characterization
Hazus	Hazards-United States (older link archive)
HBB	Health Behavior Branch (changed to SBSB; older link archive)
HBI	Healthy Brain Initiative
HBIIP	Higher Blends Infrastructure Incentive Program
HBP	Highway Bridge Program (reverted to HBRRP)
HBRB	Health Behaviors Research Branch (older link archive)
HBRRP	Highway Bridge Replacement and Rehabilitation Program (changed to HBP, then reverted to HBRRP)
HBRT	HIPAA Breach Reporting Tool
HCAAF	Human Capital Assessment and Accountability Framework (unable to verify 4/20)
HCAHPS	Hospital CAHPS (older link archive)
HCD4HS	Human-centered Design for Human Services

HCFA	Health Care Financing Administration (changed to CMS)
HCFAC	Health Care Fraud and Abuse Control Program (older link archive)
HCHV	Health Care for Homeless Veterans Program
HCIC	Hurricane Contracting Information Center (unable to verify 2/09)
HCIRB	Health Communication and Informatics Research Branch (older link archive)
HCMI	Human Cancer Models Initiative (older link archive)
H-CORE	HHS Coordination Operations and Response Element
HCP	Habitat Conservation Plan (older link archive) \| Healthcare and Consumer Products Section (older link archive)
HCPCS	Healthcare Common Procedural Coding System (older link archive)
HCRL	Horticultural Crops Research Laboratory (unable to verify 1/23; older link archive; archive2)
HCRU	Horticultural Crops Research Unit (unable to verify 1/23, likely changed to Horticultural Crops Production and Genetic Improvement Research Unit; older link archive; archive2)
HCS	Hazard Communication Standard (older link archive) \| Housing Counseling System
HCSA	Healthcare and Social Assistance
HCSD	Health Communication Science Digest (discontinued 8/22)
HCUP	Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
HCV	Office of Housing Choice Vouchers (older link archive)
HDGDC	Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection (older link archive; archive2)
HDGM	High Definition Geomagnetic Model
HDI	Health Data Interactive (discontinued 7/16)
HDIAC	Homeland Defense & Security Information Analysis Center
HDP	Heliophysics Data Portal \| Heritage Documentation Programs (older link archive; archive2)
HDRP	Healthcare Delivery Research Program
HDS	Health and Diet Survey
HDSC	Hydrometeorological Design Studies Center
HDTN	High-Rate Delay Tolerant Networking
HDVEC	Heavy-Duty Vehicle Emissions Calculator
HDW	HRSA Data Warehouse (changed to data.HRSA.gov)
HDX	Homelessness Data Exchange
HEAL	Helping to End Addiction Long-term Initiative
HEALS	Healthy Eating and Active LifeStyles
HEASARC	High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
HEC	Higher Education Challenge Grants Program (older link archive; archive2)
HEC IWG	High End Computing Interagency Working Group
HECAT	Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool
HECM	Home Equity Conversion Mortgage program
HEDIS	Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (older link archive)
HEDR	Hanford Environmental Dose Reconstruction Project
HEEAD	Health and Environmental Effects Assessment Division
HEER	Higher Education Emergency Relief
HEERF	Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund
HEI	Healthy Eating Index (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
HEIS	Hanford Environmental Information System (older link archive)
HELD	Health Effects Laboratory Division

HELP Commission	Commission on Helping to Enhance the Livelihood of People around the Globe (defunct)
HEMS	HUD Enforcement Management System (older link archive)
HEMS Tool	Helicopter Emergency Medical Services Tool (integrated into GFA-LA 10/23)
HEMU	Health Economics and Modeling Unit
HEO	Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate (separated into ESDMD and SOMD 9/21; older link archive)
HEP	High Energy Physics Program (older link archive) \| High School Equivalency Program (older link archive) \| Higher Education Programs \| Office of Planning, Environment, and Realty
HEPGIS	Planning, Environment, Realty Geographic Information System (older link archive)
HERA	Human Exploration Research Analog
HERD	Higher Education Research and Development Survey (older link archive)
HERMES	Heliophysics Environmental and Radiation Measurement Experiment Suite
HERO	Health and Environmental Research Online
HERU	Hydraulic Engineering Research Unit (changed to AHERU)
HESN	Higher Education Solutions Network (older link archive; archive2)
HETF	Health Equity Task Force
HExCAT	Homeland Explosive Consequence Assessment Tool
HF	Human Factors Division \| Hydraulic Fracturing (older link archive)
HFD	Human Factors/Behavioral Sciences Division (unable to verify 5/14)
HFIP	Hurricane Forecast Improvment Program
HFIR	High Flux Isotope Reactor
HfL	Highways for LIFE
HFP	Division of Health Care Financing Policy \| Human Foods Program
HFPP	Healthcare Fraud Prevention Partnership (older link archive)
HFRP	Haitian Family Reunification Parole Program (older link archive) \| Healthy Forests Reserve Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
HFTO	Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office
HGP	Human Genetics Program (unable to verify 11/20)
HHE	Health Hazard Evaluation Program
HHF	Hardest Hit Fund (older link archive)

HHI	Healthy Homes Initiative (older link archive)
HHIS	Heritage Health Information Survey
HHLPSS	Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Surveillance System
HHRA	Human Health Risk Assessment (older link archive)
HHS	Department of Health and Human Services
HHTS	Healthy Homes Technical Studies
HiAP	Health in All Policies
HIATUS	Human Interpretable Attribution of Text using Underlying Structure
HIC	Histology and Imaging Core \| Housing Inventory Count (older link archive)
HIDTA	High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (older link archive)
HIE	Health Information Exchange (older link archive; archive2)
HIF	Hydrologic Instrumentation Facility
HIFCA	High Intensity Financial Crime Area (older link archive)
HIFLD	Homeland Infrastructure Foundation-Level Data Working Group (older link archive; archive2)
HIG	High-Value Detainee Interrogation Group
HIM	Health Information Management Program
HINTS	Health Information National Trends Survey
HIP	Housing Improvement Program (older link archive; archive2) \| Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (older link archive; archive2)
HIPAA	Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (older link archive)
HIPDB	Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (archive; merged into NPDB 5/13)
HIS	Hydrographic and Impairment Statistics (older link archive)
HISP	High Impact Service Provider
HISPC	Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
HIT	Office of Transportation Workforce Development and Technology Deployment
HITEC	Homeland Identities, Targeting & Exploitation Center (older link archive)
HITL	Humans in the Loop
HITS	High Impacts Tracking System
HIU	Humanitarian Information Unit (older link archive)
HIV/AIDS	Divisions of HIV/AIDS Prevention (older link archive)
HIV DRP	HIV Dynamics and Replication Program
HIVE	Health Information Vision Exchange \| Highly Integrated Vehicle Ecosystem
HIVIS	Hydrologic Imagery Visualization and Information System
HIW	Health Indicators Warehouse (discontinued 6/16)
HKNC	Helen Keller National Center
HL	Hydrology Laboratory (older link archive)
HLED	U.S.-Mexico High-Level Economic Dialogue

HMDA	Home Mortgage Disclosure Act
HMEP	Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
HMF	Harbor Maintenance Fee
HMGP	Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (older link archive)
HMI	Healthy Marriage Initiative (discontinued 9/12)
HMIS	Homeless Management Information System
HML	Hollings Marine Laboratory (older link archive; archive2)
HMON	Hurricanes in a Multi-scale Ocean coupled Non-hydrostatic model
HMRF	Healthy Marriage & Responsible Fatherhood (older link archive)
HMRS	Healthy Meals Resource System (integrated into CNSS 4/19; older link archive)
HMS	Hazard Mapping System
HNRCA	Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
HOME	HOME Investment Partnerships Program
HOMR	Historical Observing Metadata Repository (older link archive)
HOP	High Obesity Program
HOPE Committee	National Committee on Heroin Opioids and Pain Efforts
HOPWA	Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS
HOS	Health Outcomes Survey (older link archive; archive2)
HP	Healthy People \| Office of Health Policy (older link archive)
HPAC	Heliophysics Advisory Committee
HPC	Hydrometeorological Prediction Center (changed to WPC; see archive)
HPCC	High Performance Computing and Communications (unable to verify 12/12)
HPD	Hourly Precipitation Data \| Human Performance Division (changed to SPD)
HPDP	Health Promotion/Disease Prevention
HPH	Healthcare and Public Health (older link archive)

HPI	House Price Index
HPMS	Highway Performance Monitoring System
HPOG	Health Profession Opportunity Grants
HPP	Hospital Preparedness Program (older link archive)
HPRP	Heirs’ Property Relending Program (older link archive)
HPS	Heritage Preservation Services (unable to verify 5/11) \| Household Pulse Survey
HPSA	Health Professional Shortage Areas (older link archive)
HPSP	Health Professions Special Pays
HPSS	High-Performance Storage System
HPTC	Historic Preservation Training Center
HPTS	Office of Transportation Policy Studies
HPV-IMPACT	Human Papillomavirus Vaccine Impact Monitoring Project
HQO	Division of Health Care Quality and Outcomes (older link archive)
HQS	Housing Quality Standards
HRC	Homelessness Resource Center (unable to verify 12/18)
HRCCT	Health Resources County Comparison Tool (changed to HRCT)
HRCPO	HR Connect Program Office (changed to EBS)
HRCT	Health Resources Comparison Tool (unable to access 2/17)
HRD	Hurricane Research Division
HRDF	Human Rights and Democracy Fund (unable to verify 6/19)
HREB	Hormonal and Reproductive Epidemiology Branch (unable to verify 5/16; likely changed to MEB)
HR LOB	Human Resources Line of Business
HRP	HIV Research Program (older link archive) \| Human Research Program (older link archive; archive2)
HRPO	Human Research Protection Office
HRQOL	Health-Related Quality of Life (site archived; older link archive)
HRR	Human Research Roadmap
HRRP	Hospital Readmissions Reduction Program (older link archive)
HRRR	High-Resolution Rapid Refresh \| High Risk Rural Roads (older link archive)
HRS	Health and Retirement Study
HRSA	Health Resources and Services Administration
HRSP	Human Rights and Special Prosecutions Section (older link archive)
HRT	Hostage Rescue Team (older link archive)
HRVWCC	Human Rights Violators and War Crimes Center
HRVWCU	Human Rights Violators and War Crimes Unit (changed to HRVWCC)
HS	Hazard Services (older link archive)

HS&B	High School & Beyond
HSAAC	Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (changed to HSAPC)
HSAC	Homeland Security Advisory Council
HSAM	Homeland Security Acquisition Manual
HSAPC	Homeland Security Academic Partnership Council (older link archive)
HSARPA	Homeland Security Advanced Research Projects Agency (older link archive)
HSAS	Homeland Security Advisory System (replaced by NTAS)
HSB	Head Start Bureau (changed to OHS) \| Health Studies Branch \| Health Systems Bureau (changed from Healthcare Systems Bureau; older link archive)
HSC	Human Smuggling Cell (unable to verify 2/21)
HSDL	Homeland Security Digital Library
HSEB	Health Services and Economics Branch (replaced by HARB)
HSEEP	Homeland Security Exercise and Evaluation Program (older link archive; archive2)
HSEES	Hazardous Substances Emergency Events Surveillance (terminated 2009)
HSGAC	U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs
HSGI	High School Graduation Initiative (unable to verify 2/24)
HSGP	Homeland Security Grant Program
HSI	Hispanic-Serving Institutions Division \| Homeland Security Investigations (older link archive)
HSII	Human Services Interoperability Innovations

HSIN	Homeland Security Information Network
HSINAC	Homeland Security Information Network Advisory Committee (unable to verify 11/17)
HSIP	Highway Safety Improvement Program (older link archive) \| Homeland Security Infrastructure Program (unable to verify 3/24; older link archive; archive2)
HSIPR	High-Speed Intercity Passenger Rail Program (older link archive)
HSIRB	Health Systems and Interventions Research Branch
HSL	GPO Historic Shelflist (older link archive)
HSLS:09	High School Longitudinal Study of 2009
HSM	Highway Safety Manual (older link archive)
HSMMD	Homeland Security Materials Management Division (older link archive)
HSOAC	Homeland Security Operational Analysis Center
HSOC	Homeland Security Operations Center (unable to verify 3/12)
HSP	Office of Human Services Policy (older link archive; archive2)
HSPC	Homeland Security Policy Council (older link archive)
HSPP	Human Subjects Protection Program (older link archive)
HSR	Health Services Research
HSR&D	Health Services Research & Development
HSRB	Hazardous Substances Research Branch (older link archive) \| Human Studies Review Board (older link archive)
HSRC	Housing and Services Resource Center
HSRIC	Health Services Research Information Central (retired 9/21; older link archive; archive2)
HSS	Office of Health, Safety and Security (divided into IEA and EHSS 5/14)
HSSEDI	Homeland Security Systems Engineering and Development Institute
HSSTAC	Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee (site archived 6/23; older link archive)
HST	High School Transcript Studies
HSWG	Human Subjects Working Group (changed to HSPP)

HTA	Homeland Threat Assessment (older link archive)
HTEM	High Throughput Experimental Materials Database
HTF	Housing Trust Fund \| Hypoxia Task Force
HTMC	Historical Topographic Map Collection
HTPU	Human Trafficking Prosecution Unit
HTRL	High-Throughput Research Laboratory
HTRS	Human Trafficking Reporting System
HTS	Harmonized Tariff Schedule
HTYPE	Human Trafficking Youth Prevention Education (older link archive)
HUBZone	Historically Underutilized Business Zones (older link archive)
HUD	Department of Housing and Urban Development (older link archive) \| Humanitarian Use Device (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
HUD-VASH	HUD Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing Program
HuGENet	Human Genome Epidemiology Network
HURSAT	Hurricane Satellite
HVCES	Homeless Veterans Community Employment Services
HVRP	Homeless Veterans Reintegration Program (older link archive)
HVS	Housing Vacancy Survey
HVU	HUD Virtual University (older link archive)
HWCC	Hunting and Wildlife Conservation Council (older link archive; archive2)
HWD	Health & Wellness Director \| Healthy Work Design and Well Being Program
HWM	Health and Wellness Manager (changed to HWD) \| High Water Mark Initiative
HWRF	Hurricane Weather Research and Forecast
HWS	Hydrology and Watershed System Subgroup
HWT	Hazardous Weather Testbed
HyspIRI	Hyperspectral Infrared Imager