LibGuides: GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: S

S2N	Send2NCEI
S3	Science, Safety, Security \| Strategic Security Sciences Division
S&PF	State and Private Forestry (changed to SPTF)
S&T	Science and Technology Directorate
S&TF	Science and Technology Facility
SA	Office of Security Assistance \| Strategic Analysis (older link archive)
SAB	EPA Science Advisory Board (older link archive)
SABER	Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research (unable to verify)
SABIT	Special American Business Internship Training (older link archive)
SABRE	Stratospheric Aerosol processes, Budget and Radiative Effects
SABS	School Attendance Boundary Survey (older link archive)
SABT	Special Agent Basic Training
SAC	Small Agency Council \| Special Applications Center
SACC	Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals
SACGHS	Secretary's Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society (unable to verify 7/17)
SACGT	Secretary's Advisory Committee on Genetic Testing (absorbed by SACGHS)
SACHRP	Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Human Research Protections
SACO	Subject Authority Cooperative Program
SACX	Secretary's Advisory Committee on Xenotransplantation (defunct)
SADC	South Asian Digital Collection
SADF	Seized Asset Deposit Fund (older link archive)
SaDIP	Safety Data Improvement Program

SAE	Office of Systems Architecture and Engineering \| State and Metro Area Employment, Hours, & Earnings
SAER	LLNL Site Annual Environmental Report (older link archive)
SAFARIS	Spatial Analytic Framework for Advanced Risk Information Systems
SAFECOM	Aviation Safety Communique \| Safety Communications (older link archive)
SAFE-ITR	Sexual Assault Forensic Evidence – Inventory, Tracking, and Reporting Program
SAFE MAP	Schools Are Far Enough Map
SafeMTS	Safe Maritime Transportation System
SafeOCS	Safe Outer Continental Shelf
SAFER	Safety and Fitness Electronic Records \| Staffing for Adequate Fire & Emergency Response Grants Program (older link archive)
SAGE	Stratospheric Aerosol and Gas Experiment
SAHIE	Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (older link archive; archive2)
SAI	Student Aid Index \| Surface Awareness Initiative
SAIF	Saving Associate Insurance Fund (merged into DIF)
SAIG	Student Aid Internet Gateway
SAIPE	Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (older link archive)
SAIR	Situational Awareness and Incident Response program
SAKI	Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (older link archive; archive2)
SALI	SEC Action Lookup for Individuals
SALPIE	Small and Less Populous Island Economies Initiative
SAM	System Advisor Model \| System for Award Management (older link archive; archive2)
SAMHDA	Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
SAMHSA	Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMS	Secure Access Management Services
SanctSound	Sanctuary Soundscape Monitoring Project
SANE	Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner
SAO	Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (older link archive; archive2)
SAOP	Senior Agency Officials for Privacy (unable to verify 2/18; older link archive)
SAP	Scientific Advisory Panel \| Standard Application Process \| Survey of Adults on Probation
SAPP	State Alternative Plan Program (older link archive)

SAR	Semiannual Report to Congress, IG \| Suspicious Activity Reports Program
SARA	Service and Advice for Research and Analysis (older link archive) \| Stock Assessment Results Archive (older link archive)
SARC	Stock Assessment Review Committee (unable to verify 4/20)
SARD	Safety and Assurance Requirements Division (changed to MASCD)
SARE	Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education
SARGDDC	South Africa Regional Global Disease Detection Centre (unable to verify 9/23)
SARI	Stock Assessment Review Index (older link archive)
SARP	Sectoral Applications Research Program (unable to verify 9/23; older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SARSAT	Search and Rescue Satellite Aided Tracking
SAS	Science Analytics and Synthesis \| Service Annual Survey (older link archive) \| Surveillance and Aviation Section (unable to verify 8/22) \| Sustainable Agricultural Systems (older link archive; archive2)
SASD	State Ambulatory Surgery and Services Databases
SASINF	Stock Assessment Support Information (older link archive; archive2)
SASP	Substance Abuse and Suicide Prevention program
SASS	Schools and Staffing Survey
SAT	Save America’s Treasures
SAVE	Saving on a Valuable Education Plan \| Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlement
SAVER	System Assessment and Validation for Emergency Responders Program
SAVIN	Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification (older link archive)
SAVS	System for Assessing Vulnerability of Species (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SAW	Stock Assessment Workshop (unable to verify 4/20)
SAWG	Sustained Assessment Working Group (older link archive)
SAW/RTW	Stay-at-work/Return-to-work
SAWSC	South Atlantic Water Science Center

SB	Space Biology Program (older link archive; archive2) \| Surgery Branch
SBA	Small Business Administration \| Small Business Assistance Program
SBB	Statistical Briefing Book (older link archive)
SBC	Structural Biology Center (older link archive)
SBCC	Southwest Border Coordination Center
SBCC-MIC	Southwest Border Coordination Center Migration Information Center
SBDR	ScienceBase Data Release Tool
SBE	Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (older link archive)
SBI	State Broadband Initiative
SBIC	Small Business Investment Company (older link archive)
SBIP	Sustainable Buildings Implementation Plan
SBIR	Small Business Innovation Research
SBIRT	Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment
SBLF	Small Business Lending Fund (older link archive)
SBLS	Small Business Lending Survey
SBMH	School-Based Mental Health Services Grant
SBO	Survey of Business Owners and Self-Employed Persons
SBP	School Breakfast Program (older link archive) \| Section on Behavioral Pediatrics (unable to verify 10/19; older link archive)
SBPS	Small Business Pulse Survey (terminated 6/22; succeeded by BTOS)
SBRB	Social and Behavioral Research Branch (older link archive)
SBSB	Social and Behavioral Sciences Branch (older link archive)
SBSC	Southwest Biological Science Center
SB/SE	Small Business/Self-Employed Division (older link archive)
SBST	Social & Behavioral Sciences Team
SC	NASA Science Council \| Office of Science (older link archive) \| Soil Series Classification Database (older link archive)
SC2	Strong Cities, Strong Communities Initiative (unable to verify 2/18)
SCA	Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs (older link archive) \| Service Center Agencies
SCAAP	State Criminal Alien Assistance Program (older link archive)
SCALEUP	Seeding Critical Advances for Leading Energy technologies with Untapped Potential Program
SCAMP	Seafloor Compliance, Assessment, and Monitoring Program (older link archive)
SCaN	Space Communications and Navigation
SCAN	Soil Climate Analysis Network (older link archive)
SCAP	Security Content Automation Protocol (older link archive)
SCAS	Small Community Advisory Subcommittee
SCB	Standard Code Book \| Survey of Current Business
SCBGP	Specialty Crop Block Grant Program
SCC	Sector Coordinating Council (older link archive) \| Strategic Center for Coal (unable to verify 11/16)
SC CASC	South Central Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
S/CCI	Office of the Coordinator for Cyber Issues (replaced by CDP; older link archive; archive2)
SCCN	Seized Currency Collection Network
SC CSC	South Central Climate Science Center (changed to SC CASC)
SCCT	Supply Chain Control Tower Program (unable to verify 4/24)
SCDCD	Scientific Computing and Data Curation Division
SCDM	Superfund Chemical Data Matrix
SCEC	State Climate Extremes Committee (older link archive)
SCED	School Courses for the Exchange of Data
SCEP	Office of State and Community Energy Programs
SCF	Strengthening Communities Fund (unable to verify) \| Survey of Consumer Finances (older link archive) \| Swift, Certain, and Fair (older link archive; archive2)
SCG	Security Classification Guide

SCHIP	State Children's Health Insurance Program (older link archive)
SCI	Special Crash Investigations \| Specialty Crops Inspection (unable to verify 8/17) \| Sustainable Communities Initiative
SciAct	Science Activation (older link archive)
SciDAC	Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computing
SCIL	Safer Chemical Ingredients List
SCIP	Office of School Choice and Improvement Programs
SCIS	SIRU Case Index System
SCISRS	Securing Compartmented Information with Smart Radio Systems
SCLEA	Survey of Campus Law Enforcement Agencies (older link archive)
SC-LOC	Supply Chain Logistics Operation Cell
SCM	Security Components and Mechanisms Group
SCNGO	Strategic Center for Natural Gas and Oil (unable to verify 2/18)
SCO	Office of Strategic Communications and Outreach (unable to verify 9/23; older link archive; archive2; archive3) \| Special Counsel's Office (older link archive) \| Standards Coordination Office
SCOPS	Service Center Operations Directorate
SCOR	Strategic Capital and Operational Research (unable to verify 5/23)
SCOTUS	Supreme Court of the United States
SCP	Specialty Crops Program
S/CPR	Office of the Chief of Protocol (older link archive; archive2)
SCPS	State Court Processing Statistics (older link archive)
SCRAM	Support Center for Regulatory Atmospheric Modeling
SCRC	Southeast Crescent Regional Commission \| Supply Chain Resilience Center
SCRHCFI	Sustainable and Climate Resilient Health Care Facilities Initiative
SCRI	Specialty Crop Research Initiative (older link archive)
SCS	School Crime Supplement (older link archive) \| Shared Cybersecurity Services
SCSD	Smart Connected Systems Division
SCSEP	Senior Community Service Employment Program (older link archive)
S/CT	Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism (changed to CT)
SD	Storm Data \| Strategic Deterrence
SDAC	Solar Data Analysis Center
SDAMs	Streamflow Duration Assessment Methods

SDC	Science and Decisions Center \| Science Data Catalog \| State Data Center
SDCC	Scientific Data and Computing Center
SDDS	School District Demographics System (changed to MapED)
SDE	Substantial Damage Estimator
S-DHC	Supplemental Demographic and Housing Characteristics File
SDLP	Small Dollar Loan Program
SDMS	Spatial Data Management System
SDN	Specially Designated Nationals List (older link archive; archive2)
SDOH	Social Determinants of Health (older link archive)
SDP	Sustainable Development Partnerships (unable to verify 7/20)
SDPI	Special Diabetes Program for Indians
SDR	Subcommittee on Disaster Reduction \| Survey of Doctorate Recipients (older link archive)
SDRD	Site-Directed Research and Development Program (older link archive)
SDRP	School District Review Program (older link archive)
SDS	Standards Development Section
SDVOSB	Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SDWIS	Safe Drinking Water Information System (older link archive)
SEA	Charter School Programs State Educational Agency (older link archive)

SEA Tool	Sea Level Evaluation and Assessment Tool
SEAB	Secretary of Energy Advisory Board
SEAC	Southeast Archaeological Center \| Student Engagement and Attendance Center (older link archive)
SEAESRT	Spacecraft Environmental Anomalies Expert System – Real Time
SEALS	Sealant Efficiency Assessment for Locals and States
SEAPortal	Secure Electronic Access Portal
SEARCH	Special Evaluation Assistance for Rural Communities and Households (older link archive; archive2; archive3) \| Study of Environmental Arctic Change
SEAS	Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SEC	Securities and Exchange Commission \| Space Environment Center (changed to SWPC)
SECA	Solid State Energy Conversion Alliance (unable to verify 8/18)
SE CASC	Southeast Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SecEA	Security Executive Agent
SE CSC	Southeast Climate Science Center (changed to SE CASC)
SED	Safety Enforcement Division (older link archive; archive2) \| Sciences and Exploration Directorate \| Stakeholder Engagement Division \| Statistical Engineering Division \| Survey of Earned Doctorates (older link archive) \| Systems Exposure Division (unable to verify 12/19)
SEDAC	Socioeconomic Data and Applications Data Center (older link archive; archive2)
SEDAR	SouthEast Data, Assessment, and Review
SEDD	State Emergency Department Databases
SEDS	Social & Economic Development Strategies (older link archive; archive2) \| State Energy Data System \| Statistical Enrollment Data System \| Stochastic Energy Deployment System
SEE	Senior Environmental Employment Program \| Space Environments and Effects (discontinued)
SEE Action	State and Local Energy Efficiency Action Network (older link archive; archive2)
SEED	Systems Engineering & Evaluation Directorate (unable to verify 5/16; likely changed to Assessments Directorate)
SEEP	State Energy Extension Partnership (older link archive; archive2)
SEER	Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results
SEES	Science, Engineering and Education for Sustainability (unable to verify 12/22)
SEFL	Supervision, Enforcement, and Fair Lending Division (older link archive; archive2)

SEFSC	Southeast Fisheries Science Center (older link archive)
SEHSD	Social, Economic, and Housing Statistics Division
SEID	State Economic & Infrastructure Development Program (older link archive)
SEINeD	Screen and Evaluate Invasive and Non-native Data
SEL	Systematic Entomology Laboratory (older link archive)
SEMAP	Section Eight Management Assessment Program
SEMS	Safety and Environmental Management Systems (older link archive; archive2) \| Superfund Enterprise Management System
SENSOR	Sentinel Event Notification System for Occupational Risks
SENTRI	Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection
SENTRY	Soft-Target Engineering to Neutralize the Threat Reality
SEO	Subsidies Enforcement Office
SEP	State Education Practices \| State Energy Program (older link archive; archive2)
SEPA	Southeastern Power Administration
SEPDPO	Scientific Education and Professional Development Program Office (changed to DSEPD)
SEPT	Survey of Employer-Provided Training
SER	State Education Reforms
SERC	Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
SERF	Solar Energy Research Facility
SERM	Security Engineering and Risk Management
SERO	Southeast Regional Office (older link archive)
SeroNet	Serological Sciences Network
SERS	Searchable Electronic Rulemaking System \| Surveillance and Emergency Response System
SERV	Project School Emergency Response to Violence (older link archive)
ServCat	Fish and Wildlife Service Catalog
SERVCON	Service Contract Filing System

S/ES	Executive Secretariat (older link archive; archive2)
SES	Division of Social and Economic Sciences (older link archive) \| Senior Executive Service
SESTAT	Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System
SET	Space Environment Testbeds
SETO	Solar Energy Technologies Office
SETS	Statistical Export and Tabulation System (unable to verify 11/16)
SEVIS	Student and Exchange Visitor Information System
SEVP	Student and Exchange Visitor Program
SEWP	Solutions for Enterprise-Wide Procurement
SEWRL	Southeast Watershed Research Laboratory
SF	Office of Sustainable Fisheries (older link archive) \| Summary File, Census
SFA	American Rescue Plan Special Financial Assistance Program
SFBPC	Sport Fishing and Boating Partnership Council (older link archive)
SFBWQIF	San Francisco Bay Water Quality Improvement Fund (older link archive)
SFC	Sanitation Facilities Construction Program
SFCB	Security Forces Capacity Building Division
SFEC	Statewide Family Engagement Centers program

SFMNP	Senior Farmers' Market Nutrition Program (older link archive)
SFPP	Structural Fire Protection Program (older link archive; archive2)
SFS	Scholarship for Service \| Supplemental Fraud Survey
SFSP	Summer Food Service Program
SFTool	Sustainable Facilities Tool
SFWD	Office of Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition
SFWST	Office of Spent Fuel & Waste Science and Technology
SGCN	Species of Greatest Conservation Need
SGCR	Subcommittee on Global Change Research (older link archive)
SGE	Special Government Employee (older link archive)
S/GFS	Office of Global Food Security (changed to E/GFS)
SGIG	Smart Grid Investment Grant (older link archive)
SGLI	Servicemembers' Group Life Insurance (older link archive)
SGM Health SIG	Sexual and Gender Minority Health Scientific Interest Group
SGM RCC	Sexual and Gender Minority Research Coordinating Committee
SGMRO	Sexual and Gender Minority Research Office
SGM RWG	Sexual and Gender Minority Research Working Group
S/GP	Office of Global Partnerships (changed to GP; older link archive)
SGR	Office of State and Grantee Relations \| State of Good Repair Grants Program
SGRD	Survey of State Government Research and Development
SGRG	Supporting Grandparents Raising Grandchildren
S/GWI	Office of Global Women's Issues (older link archive; archive2)

SHA	Safe Harbor Agreement
ShaRE	Shared Research Equipment User Facility (merged into CNMS; see archive)
SHARE	Seek, Help, Assess, Reach, Evaluate
SHARE Initiative	Safety, Health and Return-to-Employment (unable to verify 8/18)
SHARES	Shared Resources High Frequency (HF) Radio Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SHARP	Strategic Health IT Advanced Research Projects (older link archive)
SHC	Strategic Habitat Conservation (older link archive)
SHED	Survey of Household Economics and Decisionmaking (older link archive)
SHI	School Health Index \| Sustainable Highways Initiative (unable to verify 10/23)
SHIBs	Safety and Health Information Bulletins (older link archive)
SHIP	Small Rural Hospital Improvement Grant Program (older link archive; archive2) \| State Health Insurance Assistance Program (older link archive; archive2)
SHIRA	Strategic Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (older link archive)
SHOP	Self-help Homeownership Opportunity Program \| Small Business Health Options Program (older link archive)
SHP	Secretary's Honors Program (unable to verify 11/21; older link archive) \| Supportive Housing Program
SHPPS	School Health Policies and Practices Study (older link archive)
SHRP2	Strategic Highway Research Program
SHRS	Subtropical Horticulture Research Station
SHSD	Safety & Health Services Division
SHSP	State Homeland Security Program \| Strategic Highway Safety Plan (older link archive; archive2)

SI	Office of Services and Investment \| Smithsonian Institution
SIAT	Survey of International Air Travelers
SIBR	Standards Incorporated by Reference database (older link archive; archive2)
SIC	Standard Industrial Classification (older link archive)
SICP	Office of Social Innovation and Civic Participation (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
SID	State Inpatient Databases \| Strategic Intelligence Division (older link archive) \| Systems Integration Division
SIES	Office of Strategic Industries & Economic Security (older link archive)
SIF	Sensitive Instrument Facility \| Social Innovation Fund (older link archive)
SIFCF	Survey of Inmates in Federal Correctional Facilities
SI-FTAC	Scientific Integrity Fast-Track Action Committee (older link archive)
SIG	School Improvement Grants (unable to verify 11/23)
SIGAR	Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction
SIGPR	Special Inspector General for Pandemic Recovery
SIGTARP	Office of the Special Inspector General for the Troubled Asset Relief Program
SIID	Safety and Incident Investigations Division (older link archive; archive2)
SIIM	Office of Security, Intelligence, and Information Management (unable to verify 4/24; older link archive)
SILJ	Survey of Inmates in Local Jails (older link archive)
SIMP	Seafood Import Monitoring Program (older link archive)
SimPLER	Simulation Program for Leveraging and Evaluating Resources
SIMRU	Southern Insect Management Research Unit
SIND	Solar Integration National Dataset
SINTRA	Space Debris Identification and Tracking
SIO	Survey of Irrigation Organizations
SIOC	Strategic Information and Operations Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SIPP	Survey of Income and Program Participation (older link archive)
SIRIS	Smithsonian Institution Research Information System

SIS	Science and Information Subcommittee (older link archive) \| Specialized Information Services (discontinued 6/19) \| Species Information System (older link archive; public portal no longer available 8/19) \| Statistics in Schools
SISB	Strengthening Immunization Systems Branch (unable to verify 6/15)
SISCF	Survey of Inmates in State Correctional Facilities
SIT	State Inventory Tool (older link archive)
SITC	Smuggling Interdiction and Trade Compliance (older link archive)
SITE	Solutions for the Information Technology Enterprise (unable to verify 8/21)
SITES	Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service (older link archive)
SitS	Signals in the Soil
SIWRO	Secretary's Indian Water Rights Office
SJI	State Justice Institute
SJIC	Survey of Jails in Indian Country (older link archive)
SJS	State Justice Statistics Program
SLAA	State Library Administrative Agency Survey
SLAC	Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
SLAD	State and Local Assistance Programs Division
SLAITS	State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (older link archive)
SLATT	State and Local Anti-Terrorism Training Program (older link archive)
SLC	Drug Safety Labeling Changes (changed to SrLC) \| Smaller Learning Communities (unable to verify 11/23)
SLDS	Statewide Longitudinal Data Systems Grant Program
SLEGU	Survey of Law Enforcement Gang Units
SLGS	State and Local Government Series (older link archive; archive2)
SLIGP	State and Local Implementation Grant Program
SLJ	Survey of Large Jails
SLOPE	State and Local Planning for Energy
SLPSRA	Division of Space Life and Physical Sciences Research and Applications (changed to BPS)
SLR	Sea Level Rise
SLSC	State and Local Solution Center
SLSDC	Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation
SLTT	State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial Cyber Information Sharing Program
SLVAS	Screening Level Vulnerability Assessment Survey (unable to verify 2/19)

SMA	Safety and Mission Assurance Directorate (unable to verify 12/23) \| SBE Office of Multidisciplinary Activities (older link archive)
SMAD	Spinal Cord and Musculoskeletal Disorders and Assistive Devices Program (unable to verify 8/17)
SMAP	Soil Moisture Active Passive
SMaRT	Science Models and Research Tools
SMART	Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking (older link archive) \| Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends \| Space-based Machine Automated Recognition Technique
SMART ePANTS	Smart Electrically Powered and Networked Textile Systems (older link archive)
SMB	Specimen Management Branch (unable to verify 7/20)
SMCD	Satellite Meteorology and Climatology Division
SMD	Science Mission Directorate
SMDS	Smart Monitoring and Diagnostic System (unable to verify 9/23)
SME-QA	Subject Matter Expert Qualification Assessments
SMG	Spaceflight Meteorology Group
SMHPP	Spot Market Hog Pandemic Program (site archived 5/22; older link archive)
SMM	Sustainable Materials Management
SMMD	Shape Memory Materials Database \| Solar Mirror Materials Database
SMP	Senior Medicare Patrol (older link archive) \| Special Milk Program
SMR	Small Modular Reactor
SMS	Safety Management System
SMSR	Safety and Mission Success Review
SMT	Scars, Marks, and Tattoos
SMVF TA	Service Members, Veterans, and their Families Technical Assistance Center
SN	Shared Neutrals
SNAP	Significant New Alternatives Policy \| Southern Nevada Agency Partnership (unable to verify 3/19) \| Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (older link archive)
SNAP-Ed	Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program – Education (older link archive)
SNAPP	Synchronized NCEI Archive Projects Program

SNARC	Harry K. Dupree Stuttgart National Aquaculture Research Center
SNCAFAC	Sustained National Climate Assessment Federal Advisory Committee (also, ACSNCA; defunct 8/17)
SNF VBP	Skilled Nursing Facility Value-Based Purchasing Program (older link archive)
SNL	Sandia National Laboratories
SNOTEL	Snowpack Telemetry (older link archive)
SNP	Special Needs Plan (older link archive)
SNS	SAFECOM Nationwide Survey (older link archive) \| Spallation Neutron Source \| Strategic National Stockpile (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
SNUN	Significant New Use Notice
SNUR	Significant New Use Rules
SOAR	SSI/SSDI Outreach, Access, and Recovery
SOC	HHS Secretary’s Operations Center (unable to verify 4/24; older link archive) \| Standard Occupational Classification \| Survey of Construction
SOCC	Sustainable Operations and Climate Change Branch
SOCCR	State of the Carbon Cycle Report (unable to verify 8/23; older link archive; archive2)
SOCCR2	2nd State of the Carbon Cycle Report (older link archive)
SOCD	Satellite Oceanography and Climatology Division
SOCDS	State of the Cities Data Systems
SOCO	Standards of Conduct Office (older link archive; archive2)
S/OCR	Office of Civil Rights (older link archive; archive2)
SOD	Branch of Safety of Dams (older link archive; archive2) \| Superintendent of Documents
SOD-PPS	Superintendent of Documents Public Policy Statements
SOFA	Switching Operations Fatality Analysis Working Group (older link archive)
SOFC	Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Program (older link archive; archive2)
SOG	Border Patrol Special Operations Group
SOGI	Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Research Group (unable to verify 3/24, possibly replaced by SOGISC; older link archive)
SOGISC	Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and Sex Characteristics Interest Group

SOGW	Subcommittee on Ground Water (unable to verify 3/24)
SOHO	Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (older link archive)
SOI	Source of Income \| Statistics of Income (older link archive)
SOII	Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (older link archive)
soilSHOP	Soil Screening, Health, Outreach, and Partnership
SOL	Office of the Solicitor (older link archive)
SOMA	Survey of Market Absorption of New Multifamily Units (older link archive)
SOMAPI	Sex Offender Management Assessment and Planning Initiative
SOMD	Space Operations Mission Directorate (older link archive)
SONIC	Sound Online Inventory and Catalog (older link archive)
SOP	Street Outreach Program
SOPD	Sector Outreach and Programs Division (likely changed to Sector Management; older link archive; archive2)
SOPR	Senate Office of Public Records (changed to OPR)
SOPS	Surveys on Patient Safety Culture
SoR	System of Registries (older link archive)
SORCE	Solar Radiation and Climate Experiment (older link archive)
SORD	Special Operations and Research Division (older link archive; archive2)
SORNs	System of Records Notices
SORS	Suspicious Orders Report System (older link archive)
SOS	Safe Online Surfing (older link archive) \| Science on a Sphere \| Subcommittee on Sedimentation (unable to verify 3/24)
SoSOA	System of Systems Operational Analytics
SOST	Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (older link archive)
SOT	Services for Survivors of Torture (older link archive; archive2)
SOTC	State of the Climate (changed to Monthly Report; older link archive)
SOURCE	Simulation of Opioid Use, Response, Consequences, and Effects
SOWFA	Simulator fOr Wind Farm Applications
S/P	Policy Planning Staff (older link archive; archive2)
SPA	Small Project Assistance Program
SPACE	Stochastic Population Analysis for Complex Events
SPAN	State Physical Activity and Nutrition Program
SPARC	Strategic Partners Acquisition Readiness Contract (older link archive)

SPB	Science Policy Branch (older link archive)
SPC	Storm Prediction Center
SPD	Safety Partnerships Division (older link archive) \| Science Policy Division \| Special Programs Division (unable to verify 10/14) \| Survey of Program Dynamics (older link archive) \| Sustainability Performance Division (reverted to SPO)
SPDF	Space Physics Data Facility
SPEA	Strategic Planning and Economic Analysis (changed to EAO)
SPEAR	Safety Performance Enhanced by Analytical Review
SPEC	Special Presidential Envoy for Climate
SPECA	Secondary Education, Two-Year Postsecondary Education, and Agriculture in the K-12 Classroom Challenge Grants Program (older link archive; archive2)
SPEED	Special Projects for Equitable and Efficient Distribution (unable to verify 9/21; older link archive)
SPF	Strategic Prevention Framework (unable to verify 5/19)
SPG Coalition	Sustainable Productivity Growth Coalition
SPHB	Susceptibility and Population Health Branch (unable to verify 12/13)
SPI	Office of Economic Sanctions Policy and Implementation (older link archive) \| Smart Policing Initiative (changed to Strategies for Policing Innovation, then reverted back to Smart Policing Initiative) \| Survey of Prison Inmates
SPI DAT	Survey of Prison Inmates Data Analysis Tool
SPIDERS	Smart Power Infrastructure Demonstration and Energy Reliability and Security
SPIROLA	Spirometry Longitudinal Data Analysis (older link archive)
SPL	Substance Priority List
SPLASH	Study of Precipitation, the Lower Atmosphere and Surface for Hydrometeorology

SPLP	Safer Product Labeling Program (changed to Safer Choice)
SPM	Supplemental Poverty Measure
SPO	Special Programs Office (older link archive; archive2) \| Strategic Partnerships Office \| Sustainability Performance Office (reverted back from SPD; older link archive; archive2)
SPOREs	Specialized Programs of Research Excellence
SPoRT	Short-term Prediction Research and Transition Center (older link archive)
SPP	School Pulse Panel \| Screening Partnership Program \| Sustainable Procurement Plan
SPPA	Survey of Public Participation in the Arts (older link archive)
SPPC	Safety Program for Perinatal Care (older link archive)
SPPE	Safety and Pollution Prevention Equipment
SPPO	Student Privacy Policy Office
SPPR	Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, and Requirements (unable to verify 4/24; older link archive)
SPR	Strategic Petroleum Reserve (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
SPRAC	Senior Preservation Rental Assistance Contracts (older link archive)
SPRC	Suicide Prevention Resource Center
SPRINT	Scaling Pandemic Resilience Through Innovation and Technology Challenge
SPRIRC	Suicide Prevention and Response Independent Review Committee
SPRRS	Southern Plains Range Research Station (unable to verify 5/23)
SPRUCE	Spruce and Peatland Responses Under Climatic and Environmental Change
SPS	Secure Payment System (older link archive)
SPSD	Satellite Products and Services Division \| Standardized Program Structure and Definitions (unable to verify 6/19)
SPSQ IWG	Software Productivity, Sustainability, and Quality Interagency Working Group
SP-TC	Sensors and Platforms Technology Center
SPTF	State, Private, and Tribal Forestry
SQ-CLASS	Business and Professional Classification Survey (older link archive)

SRA	Sequence Read Archive
SRA Tool	Security Risk Assessment Tool
SRAR	Special Representative for Afghanistan Reconciliation (changed to Special Representative for Afghanistan; older link archive; archive2)
SRAS	Small Rural Assessment System
SRB	Scientific Review Branch (older link archive) \| Services Research Branch (older link archive)
SRBC	Susquehanna River Basin Commission (older link archive)
SRC	Science Research and Collaboration
SRCL	Striving Readers Comprehensive Literacy Program (changed to CLSD)
SRCP	Sodium Reduction in Communities Program (discontinued)
SRDR	Systematic Review Data Repository (older link archive)
SREF	Short-Range Ensemble Forecast
SRF	Security Response Force \| State Review Framework
S/RGA	Office of Religion and Global Affairs (unable to verify 6/19)
SRI	Soil Resources Inventory
SrLC	Drug Safety-related Labeling Changes
SRM	Standard Reference Materials \| Supervision Risk Management (unable to verify 8/21)
SRMA	Sector Risk Management Agencies
SRMC	Special Representative to Muslim Communities (unable to verify 6/19)
SRNL	Savannah River National Laboratory (older link archive)
SRO	Smithsonian Research Online
SRP	Superfund Research Program
SRRL	Solar Radiation Research Laboratory (older link archive; archive2)
SRRS	Service Records Retention System
SRRT	Southern Rockies Reforestation Tool (older link archive)
SRS	Savannah River Site \| Southern Research Station (older link archive) \| Substance Registry Services (older link archive; archive2) \| Summary Reporting System (discontinued 1/21; older link archive) \| Surveillance and Response System
SRT	Solicitation Review Tool (older link archive)
SRTB	Science of Research and Technology Branch (unable to verify 11/16)
SRTS	Safe Routes to School \| Survey Request Tracking Solution (discontinued)
SRWG	NASA Sounding Rocket Working Group

SS	Secret Service
SS4A	Safe Streets and Roads for All
SSA	Office of School Support and Accountability \| Secure Systems and Applications Group \| Social Security Administration
SSAB	Social Security Advisory Board
SSAGO	Survey of State Attorneys General Offices (older link archive)
SSAS	Supervision System & Analytical Support (older link archive)
SSBCI	State Small Business Credit Initiative (older link archive)
SSBG	Social Services Block Grant Program
SSC	Stennis Space Center (older link archive)
SSCC	Social Science Coordinating Committee (older link archive)
SSCI	Senate Select Committee on Intelligence
SSD	Office of Strategic Stability and Deterrence Affairs (older link archive) \| Satellite Services Division (changed to SPSD) \| Scientific Services Division (older link archive; archive2) \| Security Services Division \| Sensor Science Division \| Software and Systems Division
SSDCS	Statistical Standards and Data Confidentiality Staff
SSEC	Smithsonian Science Education Center
SSEDSO	Solar System Exploration Data Services Office
SSERVI	Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute
SSG	Strategic Sciences Group
SS/HS	Safe Schools/Healthy Students (unable to verify 3/19)
SSI	Sectoral Sanctions Identifications List (older link archive) \| Sensitive Security Information \| Supplemental Security Income

SSLE	Security, Safety and Law Enforcement Office
SSMA	Status of Stocks and Multispecies Assessments (older link archive)
SSO	SLAC Site Office (changed to BASO at SLAC; older link archive)
SSOAP	Sanitary Sewer Overflow Analysis and Planning
SSOCS	School Survey on Crime and Safety
SSP	Office of Safety and Security Policy \| Office of Safety and Security Policy (changed to Office of Field Safety, Security, and Infrastructure; older link archive) \| Shared Services Programs \| Shelter and Services Program (older link archive)
SSPs	Syringe Services Programs (older link archive)
SSPTW	Social Security Programs Throughout the World
SSRC	Shared Services Resource Catalog (unable to verify 4/22; older link archive)
SSRP	School Support and Rural Programs (unable to verify 10/19)
SSRW	Safe Skilled Ready Workforce Program
SSS	Selective Service System \| Student Support Services program
SST	Sea Surface Temperature \| Small Spacecraft Technology program
SS-TC	Social Sciences Technology Center
S-STEM	Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (older link archive)
SSTF	Subject Summary Tape Files
SSTP	Small Spacecraft Technology Program (changed to SST)
SSuN	STD Surveillance Network
SSURGO	Soil Survey Geographic database (older link archive)
SSV	Survey of Sexual Victimization (formerly Survey of Sexual Violence; older link archive)
SSVF	Supportive Services for Veteran Families Program
SSWD	Subcommittee on Spatial Water Data (unable to verify 3/24)
SSWR	Safe and Sustainable Water Resources Program
STAA	Science, Technology Assessment, and Analytics Team (older link archive; archive2)
STAC	Secretary’s Tribal Advisory Committee (older link archive)

STAG	State and Tribal Assistance Grant Programs (unable to verify 1/15)
STAR	Center for Satellite Applications and Research
STARS	Spatial Tools for the Analysis of River Systems
STAR TREC	Standards References and Training Research Committee (older link archive)
STAS	Office of the Science & Technology Adviser (older link archive)
Stat.	United States Statutes at Large (older link archive)
STATE	State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation
STATSGO2	Digital General Soil Map of the United States (older link archive)
STAX	Stacked Income Protection Plan
STB	Science & Technology Branch (older link archive) \| Surface Transportation Board (older link archive; archive2)
STBG	Surface Transportation Block Grant program
STC	Annual Survey of State Government Tax Collections (older link archive) \| Office of Science and Technology Cooperation \| Securing the Cities (pdf)
STCC	Signal, Train Control, and Crossings Division
STDs	Sexually Transmitted Diseases
STEADI	Stopping Elderly Accidents, Deaths & Injuries
STEAP	Screening Tool for Equity Analysis of Projects (older link archive)
STELA	System for Tracking Export License Applications
STEM	Safety, Training and Emergency Management Division
STEO	Short-Term Energy Outlook
STEP	Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian (older link archive) \| Smart Traveler Enrollment Program \| State Trade Expansion Program \| State Tribal Education Partnership (older link archive) \| Supercritical Transformational Electric Power (older link archive)
STEPPS	State-Based Epidemiology for Public Health Program Support (unable to verify 2/13)
STEP-UP	Secondary Transition to Employment Program – USGS Partnership (older link archive; archive2)

STEREO	Solar Terrestrial Relations Observatory (older link archive; archive2)
STEWARDS	Sustaining the Earth's Watersheds, Agricultural Research Data System (older link archive; archive2)
STF	Summary Tape File, Census
STGWG	State and Tribal Government Working Group (older link archive)
STI	Scientific and Technical Information
STIC	Scientific and Technical Information Center
STIP	Scientific and Technical Information Program \| Statewide Transportation Improvement Program
STIP APS	Science, Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships Annual Program Statement (older link archive)
STIR/SHAKEN	Secure Telephone Identity Revisited/Signature-based Handling of Asserted Information Using toKENs
STL	Special Technologies Laboratory (older link archive)
STLP	Short Term Lending Program (unable to verify 8/19)
STMD	Space Technology Mission Directorate (older link archive)
STOP	Stop Transmission of Polio Program \| Strategy for Targeting Organized Piracy (changed to Enforcement Resources; older link archive)
STORET	Storage and Retrieval Data Warehouse (decommissioned 6/18; older link archive; archive2)
STP	Science, Technology and Policy (older link archive; archive2; archive3) \| Solar-Terrestrial Physics
STPC	Science and Technology Policy Council (unable to verify 3/18)
STRBase	Short Tandem Repeat DNA Internet DataBase (older link archive)
STRGP	Space Technology Research Grants Program (older link archive)
STRI	Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute
STRIDE	Strategic Recruitment, Inclusive Diversity, and Engagement
STRP	Seafood Trade Relief Program (terminated 1/21)
STRS	Space Telecommunications Radio System
STRYVE	Striving to Reduce Youth Violence Everywhere (older link archive)
STS	Second Target Station
STSAC	Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee
STSI	State Traffic Safety Information (older link archive)
ST-Sim	State-and-transition simulation model
STTR	Small Business Technology Transfer (older link archive)
STVM	Security Testing, Validation, and Measurement Group

SuDocs	Superintendent of Documents (older link archive)
SUDORS	State Unintentional Drug Overdose Reporting System
SuitEA	Suitability Executive Agent
SUNVEx	Southwest Urban NOx and VOC Experiment
Suomi-NPP	Suomi National Polar-orbiting Partnership (older link archive)
SUPER	Strengthening Utilities and Promoting Energy Reform
SURE	Scaling Up Renewable Energy \| Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (unable to verify 5/15)
SURFA	Surface Flux Analysis (unable to verify 8/21)
SURFRAD	Surface Radiation Budget Network
SUSB	Statistics of U.S. Businesses
SVEP	Severe Violator Enforcement Program
SVI	Social Vulnerability Index (older link archive)
SVIP	Silicon Valley Innovation Program
SVOG	Shuttered Venue Operators Grant
SVORI	Serious and Violent Offender Reentry Initiative
SVRS	Small Vessel Reporting System (discontinued 9/18; replaced by ROAM)
SVS	Scientific Visualization Studio \| Supplemental Victimization Survey
SWAP	State Wildlife Action Plans
SWAT	Special Weapons and Tactics Team
SWaTH	Surge, Wave, and Tide Hydrodynamics Network (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
SWBCWG	Southwest Border Communications Working Group
SWBPI	Southwest Border Prosecution Initiative (unable to verify 8/18)
SWC	National Stormwater Calculator
SW CASC	Southwest Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
SWCC	Southwest Coordination Center

S/WCI	Office of War Crimes Issues (changed to GCJ)
SW CSC	Southwest Climate Science Center (changed to SW CASC)
SWDI	Severe Weather Data Inventory (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4; archive5)
SWEDD	Southwest Energy Exploration, Development, and Drought (changed to SWEDR; older link archive)
SWEDR	Southwest Energy Exploration, Development, and Reclamation
SWERA	Solar and Wind Energy Resource Assessment
SWFO	Space Weather Follow-On (older link archive)
SWFSC	Southwest Fisheries Science Center (older link archive)
SWFT	Statewide Wildland-Urban Interface Fuels Treatment
SWG	State Wildlife Grants
SWiFT	Scaled Wind Farm Technology (older link archive; archive2)
SWIM	System Wide Information Management (older link archive)
SWMM	Storm Water Management Model
SWO	Office of Space Weather Observations
SWORM	Space Weather Operations, Research, and Mitigation Subcommittee
SWOT	Surface Water and Ocean Topography
SWPA	Southwestern Power Administration (older link archive)
SWPC	Space Weather Prediction Center
SWPP	Source Water Protection Program
SWRC	Southwest Watershed Research Center
SWRR	Sustainable Water Resources Roundtable (unable to verify 3/24)
SWS	Safe Water System
SWSI	Surface Water Supply Index (unable to verify 10/22; older link archive)
SWTCIE	Subminimum Wage to Competitive Integrated Employment (older link archive)
SyH-DR	Synthetic Healthcare Database for Research (older link archive)
SynLBD	Synthetic Longitudinal Business Database
SynPUFs	Medicare Claims Synthetic Public Use Files (older link archive)
SyRIS	Systemic Risk Identification Support & Specialty Supervision (older link archive)