This is the "Home" page of the "Judaic Studies: Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Judaic Studies: Resources  

Online resources for research in Judaic Studies
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2014 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/judaic Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources in Judaic Studies

This page is your starting point for finding databases, websites and other digital collections for Judaic Studies. Edition of the Talmud You'll find key sites especially useful for research or rewarding to browse: core databases for finding articles,  reference tools, streaming video, much more.

Also discover newly received books in Judaic Studies; subscribe to a regular news feed; or browse an Archive of New Book Lists.

Below is just a sample. Use the tabs at the top of the page to browse many more resources.

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica (Second Edition, 2007)  Icon
    Covers every aspect of Jewish history, culture and society around the world. First new edition in 35 years. Print edition also available in SSHL Reference Collection, main floor of Geisel Library, DS102.8 .E496 2007
    ___________________________________
  • ATLA Religion Database  Icon
    1949-present. Indexes journal articles, books and collected essays on all aspects of religious studies, from ancient history to the present, including social aspects of religious phenomena.
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals  Icon
    1988-present. A guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs
  • Old Testament Abstracts  Icon
    1978-present. Abstracts, all written in English, cover works in many different languages: articles from more than 450 journals, plus monographs, multi-author books, and festschriften
  • Visual History Archive (VHA) of Holocaust Survivor Testimony  Icon
    Digital collection of 52,000 video testimonies from Holocaust survivors. From the USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History & Education. Can search remotely but videos viewed only on campus. Free individual registration required. Works best with Internet Explorer
  • Encyclopedia of American Jewish History  Icon
    Encyclopedia of American Jewish History Key site [UCSD Only]
    Covers the Jewish experience in the United States from the 17th century to the 21st. This is the E-book version of a two volume encyclopedia published in 2007.[Full Description]
  • Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World  Icon
    Covers Jewish history, religion and culture in Muslim lands, covering the seventh century to the present (2010), particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. Will be updated annually
  • YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe  Icon
    History and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Includes content of print edition, plus images, media, documents and links to related sites. From the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
  • Berman Jewish Policy Archive  Icon
    A digital library of research and scholarship relating to Jewish communities in North America and around the world. From New York University's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
  • North American Jewish Data Bank  Icon
    Central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jews.Includes populations surveys and reports, American Jewish Yearbook back to 1899, links to many local community surveys
  • Jewish Studies: UC Press eScholarship Editions  Icon
    Full text of books from the University of California's Press eScholarship Editions. Most titles are also available in print at the UCSD Libraries
  • Jewish Women's Archive  Icon
    Includes a Virtual Archive, an encyclopedia, curricula and other educational materials, a variety of online exhibits, oral history guides, a blog, a growing collection of reminiscences of recently deceased Jewish women.
  • Judaica Sound Archives  Icon
    Thousands of recordings: folk, cantorial, comedy, theater, Chassidic, klezmer, Israeli, Sephardic and songs for children, plus recordings of Jewish music and humor in any language. You can listen but not download. Maintained by Florida Atlantic University
  • Virtual Cinema from the Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive  Icon
    Streaming video of more than 100 films from the early 20th century through the 1960s: collections include Jewish communities, Holocaust, pre-state Zionist era and post-1948 State of Israel. Windows and Internet Explorer 6.0 required for viewing.
  • Jewish Telegraphic Agency Archive  Icon
    1923-2008. International, daily wire service for covering news about the Jewish people since the early 20th Century.
  • Center for Jewish History  Icon
    A partnership of five major institutions of Jewish scholarship, history, and art: the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, the Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
 

Contact: Sam Dunlap

Sam Dunlap

UC San Diego Geisel Library

9500 Gilman Drive 0175C

La Jolla, CA  92093-0175

Send Email

Links: Profile & Guides

 

Contact: Rob Melton

Rob Melton

Phone (858) 534-

Fax (858) 534-7548

Send Email

Links: Profile & Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip