This is the "Articles in Core Linguistics Databases" page of the "Linguistics: Selected Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics: Selected Research Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2012 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/linguistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Articles in Core Linguistics Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Largest Bibliographic Databases

These are the two big electronic bibliographic databases for linguistics research. There is considerable overlap between the two. In addition to journal articles, both cover books (although more selectively than articles), dissertations, conference proceedings, and, to some extent, individual chapters or articles within books. MLAIB does not contain book reviews; LLBA does. LLBA’s focus on linguistics (MLAIB covers literature and folklore as well) and its abstracts make it the primary database of the two, but for a comprehensive search, MLAIB needs to be consulted as well. Because UCSD obtains access to both of these databases from the same vendor (ProQuest), they can be cross-searched. Both of them allow you to set up a customized “Alerts” service, by which new articles meeting your search criteria will be e-mailed to you automatically.

Other Biblographic Databases

  • Bibliography of Linguistic Literature = Bibliographie linguistischer Literatur (BLL)
    (DeMiller 79). ONLINE ONLY

    Coverage: 1971 to present; international in scope (for general linguistics and English, Germanic, and Romance linguistics).
  • Linguistic Bibliography for the Year … = Bibliographie Linguistique de l’année …
    (DeMiller 78)

    Coverage: 1939 to present. Provides comprehensive, worldwide coverage of periodical articles, dissertations, and contributions to collected works such as festschriften and conference proceedings, including reviews of such publications. Somewhat slow to appear (the latest covers the year 2003).
  • The Year’s Work in Modern Language Studies
    (DeMiller 652)

    Coverage: 1929/30-1994 (online only) and 1995-present (printed volumes). An annual, critical survey of research on language and literature. Five main sections: General linguistics (begun in 1974), Latin, Romance languages, Germanic languages, and Slavonic studies. Each of the latter four is divided into language and literature sections, often with further subdivisions. Sections written by separate experts in those fields.
  • Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL)
    (DeMiller 739)

    As title suggests, for English language research only. Coverage: 1920-present (Print & Electronic) Includes books, dissertations, chapters of books, and journal articles. Unlike MLAIB, ABELL does include book reviews; in fact, a search can be limited to reviews, or they may be excluded.

User Profile

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip