Skip to main content

MMW 14: Revolution, Industry and Empire: Articles

Selecting a Database

Databases are online tools that help you search for articles on a particular topic.  Article databases are organized by broad subject areas (e.g. biology, art, political science, etc.), and some are interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines.  The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. 

How to pick a database:   

The Library has access to hundreds of databases -- organized by broad subject areas.  Try browsing our Databases A-Z list, or see our list of Subject Guides that recommend appropriate databases by subject. 

Starting with an interdisciplinary database:

Not sure where to start?  Maybe your topic spans a couple of disciplines (e.g., Bioengineering)?  Some suggested databases to start with are:

Article Databases

To connect from off-campus use one of these services. After searching in these databases, click on the UC-eLinks button:
UC-eLinks to see how to get the complete article.

 

Don't forget to check any books found for bibliographies (look in the table of contents or at the ends of individual chapters); this is often an excellent source for articles as well as books. Ask at Reference if you need help.

Licensed Databases

When you see the  blue lock icon icon next to a database name, it means you need to be connected to the VPN to access the database.

Ask a Librarian