Skip to main content

MMW 15: Twentieth Century and Beyond: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Online Guide to Primary Sources
Created by the UCSD Social Sciences & Humanities Library, this online guide will help you find online primary sources!

American Memory Project
American Memory focuses on the American experience. It includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.

The Avalon Project at Yale: 20th Century Documents
Includes digital documents in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. Its coverage is from pre-18th century to the 21st century.

Cold War International History Project

Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents

Electronic Enlightenment
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With over 67,800 letters and documents and over 8,300 correspondents, EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.

Empire Online
A collection of primary source documents related to Empire Studies from 1492 to the present. You'll also find thematic essays by leading scholars that relates directly to the primary source docs.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of historical documents. Documents range from medieval to contemporary.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Collection of primary sources, often in English translation, of historic documents from the early modern period to the present for both Europe and the Americas.

London Times Historical
The Times is a daily newspaper published in the United Kingdom since 1785. This digital archive contains articles written from 1785-1985.

New York Times Historical
Daily newspaper published in New York City since 1851. This digital archive contains articles written from 1851-2004.

UC Press e-Books
Primary sources can sometimes be foundhyperlinked in the bibliographies or footnotes of these scholarly e-books.

United Nations Documents
U.N. documents dating back to 1946 through the present.

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive
An extensive collection of videos from Holocaust survivors around the world describing their experiences. The Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, and the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda. Account registration required.

Women in World History
Browse more than 200 primary sources by region.

You can also try a Google Scholar search with your topic keywords and the word "primary source" in quotations.