Skip to main content
Databases for Nanotechnology Articles, Patents and Conference Papers
These are the key databases that index the nanotechnology literature: journals as well as (in some cases) conference proceedings and patents. Web of Science and SciFinder are the best starting places, while Inspec, Compendex, and PubMed are also good databases depending on your area of focus.
Web of Science
Often the best place to start your search for journal articles for science and engineering. Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.
Comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 43 million article and patent references, CAS Registry (117 million substances, many include property data information and spectra) & CASREACT (91 million single and multi-step reactions, 14 million synthetic preparations). Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). More information about SciFinder, including registration instructions.
Covers journals and conference proceedings in engineering, including chemical engineering, materials science, environmental science and nanotechnology.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
Core index to the biomedical literature, indexing 5,500 journals in the biomedical/health sciences and related disciplines (including biochemistry, biomaterials, biomedical engineering, etc).
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in engineering and physics (including physical chemistry).
Chemical information database for 29+ million substances and 45+ million reactions. An essential complement to SciFinder for substance and reaction searching. Searchable by chemical names, numbers, structures, and by topic/keyword. Extensive source for physical property database, indexing 500 property fields, and each data point includes a journal article or patent reference.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles in more than 11,000 journals, with full-text available for over 5,300 journals. Indexes popular and scholarly sources, but you can limit results to scholarly journals.
Materials Research Society - Online Proceedings Library
Search and access full-text of conference papers from the Materials Research Society meetings.
Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, standards, and ebooks. 1988-present, with selected archive coverage.
SPIE Digital Library
Search and access full-text of the SPIE Conference papers.
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases.
How Do I Get the Article?
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: . Clicking this button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:
- Online, if available
- In print (linkout to Roger)
- Via interlibrary loan (Request) if we don't have the article.
The buttons don't appear in SciFinder, but "Link to Other Sources" in the record will connect you to UC-eLinks.
Recent UCSD Nano & Chemical Engineering Publications
Recent articles from the Dept of NanoEngineering faculty.