This is the "Basic Resources" page of the "Physics & Astronomy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics & Astronomy   Tags: astronomy, astrophysics, physics  

Basic guide to resources in physics and astronomy
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2014 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/phys-astro Print Guide RSS Updates

Basic Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News for engineering, math & physical science

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Remote Access

When you are off campus, you will need to set up a Proxy or VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your computer to gain access to the Library's licensed resources, such as e-books, e-journals, and article databases.  Directions are here.

 

Roger Search Box

Books, Textbooks and Journals

Find books, textbooks and journals on your topic in the UCSD Libraries' catalog, Roger. 

Include "textbook" as a keyword to find textbooks. Limit to "Journals and Serials" to search for journal titles.  Use Citation Linker if you have a specific journal article citation.  Locate books outside of UCSD with Circuit (SD area), Melvyl (UC libraries & beyond).

Main Article Databases

Find journal articles on your topic.  In some databases you'll find conference papers as well.

Use UC-eLinks to located  the full text of articles, if the Library licenses it.  Or find the print copy in the Library collections.

  • ADS Streamlined Search  Icon
    Indexes journal articles & conference papers in astronomy & astrophysics. Choose Physics to search physics & geophysics.
  • ArXiv.org e-Print  Icon
    Preprints for physics, astronomy, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
  • Inspec  Icon
    Indexes articles in physics, astronomy, computers & control, electronics & electrical engineering. Also good for conference proceedings.
  • Web of Science  Icon
    Indexes articles in all areas of science and social sciences. Good for citation searching. NEW! Now includes Conference Proceedings and Book citation indexes - see January 2014 news for more details.

Google?

Google can give you a start on your research, but using Google Scholar is smarter.  You'll search only academic resources, and if you set you Scholar Preferences to "University of California, San Diego - UC-eLinks" you'll be able to use UC-eLinks to get to article PDFs when you're off campus.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Kegel
Contact Info
Geisel Library 858 534-1215
dkegel@ucsd.edu
Send Email

Manage Your References

As you do research, you'll accumulate journal and book citations that you'll want to keep organized.  Refworks is a free online web tool for managine your references.  Sign up for a Refworks account and take a library workshop on how to get the most out of it.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip