LibGuides: Market Research &amp; Entrepreneurship: Start Here

Librarian Office Hours

NO DROP-IN HOURS THIS WEEK

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/99556736499
Get passcode from graphic or alt text above

until then - 24/7 CHAT HELP,
schedule a one-on-one appointment
or email Adele directly

https://ucsd.libanswers.com/

Additional resource guides:

Market Research Resources @ UCSD
Economics Resources Guide
Finding Data Guide This guide has links to the broadest range of data resources you have access to.
Career Choice & Change
Learning Excel Guide Although this guide originally was for undergraduates, it contains links to materials of interest to a range of readers who range from beginner through advanced level with Excel.
Project Management Resources Guide
Searching Patents
Business Ethics & CSR

Special Thanks

Thanks to Ruby Loredo, MLIS student intern and Geisel Library staff member, who contributed extensively to this page.

Start Here

This guide will walk you through the most useful UCSD resources for market research. The guide is arranged by tasks, which are the tabs above.

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains market research reports, industry profiles, company chronologies and industry news. It is a great first place to start when looking for background on an industry, company background and much more.
Business Source Complete
BSC is a good alternative starting point for industry overviews, business news and academic articles related to management, marketing, strategy, finance and many other topics. It contains fulltext of key journals like Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Journal, etc.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

Quick Links

Harvard Business Review
This link goes to the online, fulltext access to HBR in Business Source Complete database.
The Economist
Offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.
FT.com (Financial Times online)
There is a one-time sign up; get your link here.
WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.
Read today's New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post via Factiva
Barron's (Factiva)
Barron’s is a long-standing business news publication focused on financial markets and investing. Content is international in scope, through a "Wall Street" lens. This link searches across all Barron’s content via our Factiva platform, covering the print editions (1987-present) plus the Barron’s Online content (starts 2008), blogs and podcasts (starts 2022). Alternative access points:
- Newsstand format provides the four latest editions arranged section-by-section, and browseable like the original newspaper. From the main Barron’s link, navigate to Home on Factiva’s menu, and scroll to the US Newsstand section. Barron’s is on the fourth dot of the carousel.
- Individual Factiva articles offer translate-on-demand into multiple languages, or text-to-audio for English content.
- There are direct links to Barron’s China (simplified) and Barron’s China (traditional) editions (starts 2021).
- Barron’s Archive is available on ProQuest platform (1921-2010).
- Online access also occurs via ProQuest’s Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (1988-present). This version allows email alerts for new issues or topics.
- Current print editions are in Geisel Library’s Current Journals area, call number HG1 B3.
UC Library Search
The Library catalog, a one-stop link where you may search for books, articles & more.
Library Hours
Ask a Librarian
Library building floor plans & maps to campus library locations

Contact Information

Adele Barsh

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

Background on the Market Research Process

Below are materials from class presentations on market research using UCSD's tools.

StartBlue Handout, April 2024
Quick guide to market research resources for StartBlue incubator.

L2M Slide Deck (Winter 2024)

GPIM 472 Class Guide, Fall 2023
Market research and other useful Library resources
2023 MBA Orientation Slide Deck
Overview of business information sources, and the information infrastructure available to Rady MBA students. Also information and links to Library services and locations of special interest..
2023-24 Fall IGE Handout

Full Grad Students Guide
Here's the general guide. It also has the info about Libby and other public library sources in our region. Ideal for finding access to San Diego Business Journal in our collections, too!
Campus Calendars: Academic & Administrative

Market Research Workshheet
This handout that prompts you to consider many types of intelligence sources. 10/13/20 update: this is the page Adele mentioned in the GPIM 472 presentation
Decision Tree Handout
This document provides a visualization for the types of the market research resources you have available to you.
Business Model Canvas
This widely-used tool for creating your business model. Original source: Strategyzer. See also the e-book Business Model Canvas: Let Your Business Thrive with this Simple Model
Value Propsition Canvas
Another tool from Strategyzer, this one helps you define your market by prompting you to think through your customers in a methodical way.

Getting Started Guides
This is the online version of the handouts I brought to orientation. They are broader introductions to resources that highlight specific, broad disciplinary resources:
- Arts and Humanities
- Biological, Health and Marine Sciences
- Physical Sciences and Engineering
- Social Sciences.

Previous Guides

Tsukuba Workshop Slide Deck, Winter 2023

Winter 2023 Basement Guide to Market Research Resources This guide can be used by anyone in a campus Design Lab program who needs to understand what resources are available for understanding markets and their competition.
Spring 2023 Translational Science Handout Guide for the current capstone cohort in the TS certificate program.