LibGuides: Business: Home

Librarian Office Hours

NO DROP-IN HOURS THIS WEEK

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/99556736499
Get passcode from graphic or alt text above

Hours re-start April 10

until then - 24/7 CHAT HELP,
schedule a one-on-one appointment
or email Adele directly

https://ucsd.libanswers.com/

Additional resource guides:

Market Research Resources @ UCSD
Economics Resources Guide
Finding Data Guide
This guide has links to the broadest range of data resources you have access to.
Career Choice & Change
Learning Excel Guide
Although this guide originally was for undergraduates, it contains links to materials of interest to a range of readers who range from beginner through advanced level with Excel.
Project Management Resources Guide
Searching Patents
Business Ethics & CSR

Newest resources!

FT.com (Financial Times online)
There is a one-time sign up; get your link here.
WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.
Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html. Special features:
- International in scope
- both public and private company information
- content includes investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators and data, and stock prices
- financial instruments include bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more
- unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity)
- Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time

Frequently Used Resources

Wall Street Journal
Leading newspaper for international business news. UCSD gets the current day's content of the WSJ in three ways: WSJ.com site license, WSJ Proquest and via the News Pages of Factiva. Use the Proquest interface if you want a precise search for a topic; use the Factiva News Pages version if you want to access to graphics and downloadable audio content. Proquest offers article alerts to your email and can search back to 1980. If you need access to WSJ content older than that, or full page images, use the WSJ Historical database.

https://ucsd.libguides.com/analytics/wsjdotcom (site license for WSJ.com)
http://uclibs.org/PID/11383 (ProQuest current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/32497 (Factiva current)
- BONUS: http://lib.ucsd.edu/nyt-wsj-wp
  Daily Feed of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post via Factiva
http://uclibs.org/PID/11380 (ProQuest historical)

UC Library Search
The Library catalog, a one-stop link where you may search for books, articles & more.

The Economist
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).

Financial Times (Newsbank)
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: Most Popular is FT.com access via FT.com (latest coverage, one-time sign up); Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Gale Business Insights (1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).

Harvard Business Review
Quick access to the current and back issues of HBR.

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.

Consumer Reports Buying Guide by Consumers Union
Call Number: Business Source Complete e-book
Publication Date: annual
Longstanding publication that intends to improve buying decisions through providing reviews, ratings and advice on electronics, home appliances, cars, and supermarket items. Each volume also includes features like shopping advice and brand repair histories. Interim articles are in the monthly Consumer Reports magazine. Here is a feed of recent articles:

Research Help

Adele Barsh

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

Handouts from various talks

Slide Deck for BSA interns' session
Sept. 15, 2021
Adele's Top Picks for General Business Resources
Originally created for CARS books div talk, this guide highlights Consumer Reports, tax guides, San Diego resources, where to find info on management work-related concepts, and more.

Featured Resource

The Conference Board's database of reports and survey results contain discussion of business & economics topics of interest to management leadership. Access our subscription to the full database to search by your specific topics of interest. Below is the RSS feed of the latest reports: