Skip to main content
Below are the best databases to begin your search for property data on your substance or material.
Start With These
Essential collection of 5700+ handbooks and databases for property data on chemicals and materials. Use the Data Search to enter your material/substance, then browse and select from the list of available properties grouped by category (electrical, mechanical, thermal/thermodynamic, etc.). Data is presented in interactive, downloadable tables, and in some cases interactive graphs. Click more to see some of the key titles.
You can locate property data for your compound through a substance search in the 44-million compound CAS Registry. From the substance record you can then check for experimental and predicted data. The experimental data will usually be accompanied by a literature reference.
You can also search SciFinder by research topic, which can be helpful if you're searching for a broad group of properties and/or group of compounds, like enthalpy of halogenated benzenes
or mechanical properties of carbonitrides
. SciFinder requires a one-time registration
Database of 29 million organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds, many with an extensive list of associated property data facts (500+ million total). Each property data point has an associated journal article or patent reference. The easiest way to search is by substance to bring up the records with property data.
ASM Handbooks Online
Searchable database of the 30-volume ASM Handbooks, the Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition and the Metals Handbook Desk Edition. Extensively covers ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials, including properties.
Properties database covering 115,000 engineering materials: metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and more. Free to search and use, with an option to register for added functionality.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Physical and chemical property data for 540,000 compounds. Includes Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Drugs, and Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds. Substance records include derivatives and key literature references.
More Databases to Try
Landolt-Börnstein (via SpringerMaterials)
Extensive collection of physical property data.
IMPORTANT: This series is now part of SpringerMaterials, which we don't license. However, you can still search the SpringerMaterials database
for your compound and property. If the document you need is from a pre-2010 volume of Landolt-Börnstein, you can access it online via Portico
. Make sure you note the Landolt volume and document name (often the compound in question) from your SpringerMaterials search, which you'll need when you browse the volumes in Portico. Instructions on searching SpringerMaterials to locate a Landolt-Börnstein chapter in Portico
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Classic reference work (updated) of property data. Easy to search by chemical, then get a list of where you can find data within the book.
Journal of Physical & Chemical Reference Data
Journal of "critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis." You can search the articles on the publisher site, or alongside the NIST Data Gateway
Indexes the journal and conference literature in multiple engineering disciplines, so this is another database where you can try a topic search of your material and property.
Basic property data and key literature references for 11,500 significant chemical compounds. From here, you can also link over to your compound's record in ChemSpider to find more property data.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Database of 29K organic compounds found in Dictionary of Organic Compounds, but with more data, including spectral peaks.
Polymers: A Property Database
Property data for 1000+ polymers, with literature references.