Skip to main content
Setting up Google Scholar
Set up Google Scholar for full-text access
- Click Settings at the top of the browser window
- Choose Library Links from the left-side menu
- Search for University of California, San Diego
- Mark check box next to option and click forward arrow
When you search for articles, you will now see a secondary column with additional links on the right. Where you see UC-eLinks, you may click that link and it will take you to the article through the library databases.
(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password)
Dissertations and Theses
|Where to Find Dissertations and Theses
(1) In Roger, the library catalog.
|(2) Use the database Dissertations and Theses to find dissertations at UCSD and other institutions.
|(3) Don't see the one you need, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Note about the Journal of Experimental Psychology
How Do I Get Full Text in the Databases?
When searching in databases:
Clicking this button in the database will search for the full text of an article. It may open up the article automatically, or you will get a menu of options to get the article:
- Get the article online, if available
- See if the article is available in print (linkout to Roger)
- Request via interlibrary loan if we don't have it.
Ways to find articles
You can find articles by:
- Selecting and searching a database
- If you know a specific journal title, using our e-Journal search box
- If you have a citation, using the Citation Linker
Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it
Keep up with what is being published in your field by using Browzine.
Browzine is a service that allows you to browse, organize, read and keep up with your favorite scholarly journals licensed by UC San Diego. You can use it on your desktop, laptop, or mobile device.
Databases to search for Articles
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly. NOTE: Includes full-text jrnl articles from PsycARTICLES and Psychology:A SAGE Full-Text Collection.
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
1926-present. BIOSIS Previews is the largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals as well as (selectively) books, conferences and patents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
LLBA is the principal index to scholarly publications in the field of linguistics, including journal articles, monographs, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews, etc.
1953-present. MEDLINE and genetics databases from the National Library of Medicine. Now offers e-mail alerting and RSS feeds! Choose Abstract display to see UC E-Links icons for linking to full text and ordering interlibrary loans.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with fulltext provided for most articles published from 1994+. See long description for subjects covered.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Web of Science
1900-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks.
Free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs):22,568 journals (including 6,213 selected Open Access journals) from 1954 publishers. JournalTOCs is for researchers, students, librarians and anyone looking for the latest scholarly articles. JournalTOCs alerts you when new issues of your Followed journals are published.