Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: How Your Librarian Can Help

 

This page will give you information on how I can support you as obtain your degree. 

Check out the other tabs of this guide for more in-depth information.

Connect

I can connect you to resources, people, and organizations in the library that are here to help you.

  • Provides services and resources for:
            ➢     Open Access initiatives & public policy
            ➢     Copyright & fair use & author rights
            ➢     Publishing opportunities and support
            ➢     Scholarly reputation & impact
  • Can assist with:
          ➢     Data management; data management plan
          ➢     Sharing and discovery of your data; describe, deposit, make it citable
          ➢     Digital preservation; ensure sustainability of your data
          ➢    Training on data-related topics like python and R
          ➢    Support for services like the Open Science Framework and figshare
          ➢    Free accounts for persistent identifiers
  • Writing + Critical Expression Hub
    • Meet with a writing tutor 
    • RSVP for graduate writing retreat
  • Contain over 100,000 digital objects, including documents, photographs, audio, video, and data sets.
    Items have been digitized from the original primary sources in our collections, and recently the Library began to partner with UC San Diego researchers on campus to make research data more readily available.
  • Any interest in data visualization and digital exhibits? Contact me.

Acquire

I buy.

I can facilitate buying.

I can facilitate acquisitions.

  • I can buy books and ebooks.  Use the Recommend a Purchase form below.

 

  • I can facilitate buying.... email me if you think we should purchase a particular journal or database.

 

  • I can facilitate acquisition...use our free Interlibrary Loan service, if UCSD doesn't own the resource you need. We will find and borrow it from another institution.

Assist

I can assist you in finding research.

Access our resources while off campus.  Set up your VPN!

Access our resources through Google Scholar.  No more requests to pay for content! Check out the Google Scholar tab of this guide for instructions on set-up.

 

 

Use the 3 catalogs below to find the resources you need:

 

 

Find articles and access journals through our databases.  Be sure to check out the Journal Articles tab of this guide to see a list of some of our available databases. Access all of our 700+ databases from the link below.

 

 

Have a particular journal in mind? Search by journal name through the link below.

 

 

Use this tool to keep up on all the latest research in your field!

 

 

Use these tools to keep up with your articles and citations, create and share bibliographies, attach PDFs with notes and highlights. Check out the Citations tab of this guide for more information.  Ask me about workshops on how to use them effectively!

Instruct

I can teach you or your students how to search efficiently and effectively.

As a TA: request instruction for your classes

As a student: request instruction for your study group or student organization

 

Possible topics:

  • How to use UCSD's resources to find research
  • Advanced searching techniques
  • Database-specific searching: how to
  • and more!

 

Instruction sessions can be:

  • 15 minute introductions to the library
  • 30 minutes
  • 50 minutes
  • 1hr and 30 minutes

It's up to you! Email me to request instruction: tlrhodes@ucsd.edu