Skip to main content

Standards & Codes: Building Codes

What are codes?

From the ICC

A building code is a collection of laws regulations, ordinances or other statutory requirements adopted by a government legislative authority involved with the physical structure and healthful conditions for occupants of buildings. The purpose of a building code is to establish the minimum acceptable requirements necessary for protecting the public health, safety and welfare in the built environment. These minimum requirements are based on natural laws, on properties of materials, and on the inherent hazards of climate, geology and the intended use of a structure (or its “occupancy”). The primary application of a building code is to regulate new or proposed construction. Building codes only apply to an existing building if the building undergoes reconstruction, rehabilitation or alteration, or if the occupancy of the existing building changes to a new occupancy as defined by the building code.

Building & Electrical Safety Codes @ UCSD

California Building Standards Code

The 2016 California Building Standards Code (Title 24, California Code of Regulations) are effective as of January 1, 2017. Consult the CBSC site for any additional supplements or errata, as well as the dates in which they went into effect. 

  • Part 1 - CALIFORNIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (includes the following Errata update below) - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • Part 2 - CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODE
    • Volume 1 of Part 2 (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
      • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Emergency Supplement: effective January 30, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective September 1, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Emergency Supplement: effective December 13, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
    • Volume 2 of Part 2 (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
      • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Emergency Supplement: effective January 30, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Errata: (non-substantive corrections): effective September 1, 2017 - (PDF)
      • Emergency Supplement & Change Without Regulatory Effect (CWoRE): effective December 13, 2017 & January 12, 2018 - (PDF)
      • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 2.5 - CALIFORNIA RESIDENTIAL CODE (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Errata: effective September 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Change Without Regulatory Effect (CWoRE): effective January 12, 2018 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 3 - CALIFORNIA ELECTRICAL CODE - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 4 - CALIFORNIA MECHANICAL CODE - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 5 - CALIFORNIA PLUMBING CODE - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 6 - CALIFORNIA ENERGY CODE - (HTML)
  • PART 7 - Vacant - formerly California Elevator Safety Construction Code (see Cal. Code Regs., Title 8)
  • PART 8* - CALIFORNIA HISTORICAL BUILDING CODE - (HTML)
  • PART 9 - CALIFORNIA FIRE CODE (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective September 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 10* - CALIFORNIA EXISTING BUILDING CODE (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Emergency Supplement: effective January 30, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Emergency Supplement: effective December 13, 2017 - (PDF)
  • PART 11 - CALIFORNIA GREEN BUILDING STANDARDS CODE - also referred to as CALGreen (includes the following Errata and Supplement updates below) - (HTML)
    • Errata (non-substantive corrections): effective January 1, 2017 - (PDF)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)
  • PART 12 - CALIFORNIA REFERENCED STANDARDS CODE - (HTML)
    • Supplement: effective July 1, 2018 - (PDF)

*The printed versions of Parts 8 and 10 are located in the back of Volume 2 of the California Building Code (Cal. Code Regs., Part 2, Vol. 2).