LibGuides: CHEM 7LM: Sustainability Resources: Home

From the Library

Search the library catalog for your keyword(s) to find relevant books/ebooks.
More search options: title, author, etc.

Suggested keywords for searching include sustainability, sustainable (e.g. agriculture), environmental science, recycling, renewable energy (wind, solar, nuclear), alternative fuels (biofuels, algae), climate change, plastics.

To access the ebooks, encyclopedias, and articles from off campus, set up your computer to use the VPN.

Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices
Introductions to topics on sustainability, aimed at a more general audience.
Climate Change : An Encyclopedia of Science and History
Introductory articles on climate change science and policy,
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Reference work covering topics on sustainability, with a focus on science and engineering rather than policy. NOTE: The "Download PDF" link will download all of the articles beginning with that letter.
Comprehensive Renewable Energy
Renewable energy resources (solar, biomass & biofuels, wind, fuel cells, etc), history, science & technology, applications, future potential. Some econ/policy coverage.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Major reference work with articles on all aspects of chemistry.

Environment Complete
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines for articles on environmental science and policy, with full text for many articles immediately available.
Academic Search Complete
Indexes articles (and provides full text in most cases) from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers in all subject areas. Some overlap with Environment Complete.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
Web of Science
Indexes articles from thousands of scholarly journals. With each one you can see what articles the authors cited and who has cited the article. Use UC-eLinks to find the article full text.

Get help when you need it.

You can also contact the Chemistry Librarian for research assistance by email or to set up a time for a consultation.

Sustain UCSD is the portal for all campus-related sustainability activities, including:

UC San Diego Sustainability Resource Center
Campus initiatives, from minimizing waste, to making our buildings more energy efficient, to alternative transportation to and around campus.
Academic programs for undergraduates interested in sustainability-related majors and coursework, including environmental studies, marine biology, and urban studies and planning.
Ways to get involved in sustainability efforts on campus, including internships and student organizations like the Biofuels Awareness Action Network and Student Sustainability Collective.

Follow them on Twitter, @SustainUCSD.

Photo by neetalparekh / CC BY

CHEM 7LM: Sustainability Resources: Home

Librarian Support

From the Library