Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAT 2: MLA Citation

How to Write A Citation

Journal Citation
Journal Article (Online)
Bibliography:

Langhamer, Claire. “Love and Courtship in Mid-Twentieth-Century England.” Historical Journal, vol. 50, no. 1, 2007, pp. 173-196, doi.org/10.1017/S0018246X06005966

In-Text Citation: (Langhamer 192)

Book Citation
Book (Whole)
Bibliography:

Foucault, Michel, Graham Burchell, and Colin Gordon. The Foucault Effect: Studies in Governmentality : with Two Lectures by and an Interview with Michel Foucault. University of Chicago Press, 1991.

In-Text Citation: (Foucault, Burchell, and Gordon 157)

Book Chapter Citation
Book (Chapter)
Bibliography:

Moffitt, Karl. "Trends in Income Support." Changing Poverty, Changing Policies, edited by Maria Cancian and Sheldon Danziger, Russell Sage Foundation, 2009, pp. 203-221.

In-Text Citation: (Moffitt 217)

Video Citation
Video (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi." YouTube, uploaded by I Will Teach You to Be Rich, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0fjkKCsM1w

In-Text Citation: (Sethi 00:03:30-00:04:16)

Painting
Painting (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo del Prado, www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74

In-Text Citation: (Goya The Family of Charles IV)

MLA Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the arts and humanities.  These resources, revised according to the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, offer examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and reference pages:

Writing Help

Citation Help

MLA Handbook at the Library