Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Neurosciences: Articles

Help with the basics of access to library and data resources related to Neurosciences

An efficient way to find relevant articles is to search in a database. The Library has access to many databases designed to help you explore the published literature related to your topic of interest. Connect to databases through the Library website for full functionality such as access to the full text of journals the Library subscribes to on your behalf. All databases have the UC-eLinks button for retrieving full text, locating print materials, or requesting an article from another campus.

Make an appointment with your librarian if you need help getting started.

Full-Text articles

FIND full-text of an article   
If a PDF isn't automatically available full-text in the database, use the yellowish-orange UC-eLinks button to find full-text. It will take you directly to the full-text or to the journal where you will navigate to the particular article. If no online link appears, use the Request It link for interlibrary loan access at no charge to you.

Subscribe to Journal Content with Browzine

To get started with BrowZine, install the app (or go to BrowZine.com), select UC San Diego from the list of campuses, then follow the instructions to create your account. You must be on the VPN or campus protected wifi network.

selected journals via BrowZine

Setting Up Google Scholar

Set up Google Scholar for full-text access

  1. scholar.google.com
  2. Click Settings at the top of the browser window
  3. Choose Library Links from the left-side menu
  4. Search for University of California, San Diego
  5. Mark check box next to option and click forward arrow
  6. Save

When you search for articles, you will now see a secondary column with additional links on the right.  Where you see UC-eLinks, you may click that link and it will take you to the article through the library databases.

(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password)

Selected databases

bioRxiv.org - the preprint server for Biology

bioRxiv is an open access preprint repository for the biological sciences hosted by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. As preprints, papers hosted on bioRxiv are not peer-reviewed, but undergo basic screening and checked against plagiarism

Image result for biorxiv logo.