Weekly Roundup Archive: WR 9/14/24

9/16 - Census Bureau Announces Transition to New Longitudinal Design for Household Pulse Survey (Census)

9/16 - CISA Releases Plan to Align Operational Cybersecurity Priorities for Federal Agencies (CISA; direct to plan page)

9/16 - Suspect at Trump International Golf Course Charged with Firearms Offenses (DOJ)

9/16 - NOAA, Esri team up to make ocean data more accessible and actionable (NOAA)

9/17 - CFPB Takes Action to Stop Banks from Harvesting Overdraft Fees Without Consumers' Consent (CFPB; direct to guidance)

9/17 - FCC Opens [Schools and Libraries] Cybersecurity Pilot Program Application Window (FCC)

9/17 - FHFA Releases Data Visualization Dashboard for Enterprises’ Multifamily Mortgage Acquisitions (FHFA; direct to website)

9/17 - Library of Congress Launches Inaugural “Our Constitution” Podcast (LOC; direct to website)

9/17 - A higher percentage of K–12 students are receiving academic instruction at home (NCES; direct to report page)

9/18 - Investing in America: At 60K Projects and Counting, USDOT Celebrates Biden-Harris Administration’s Progress on Implementing the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (DOT; direct to factsheet)

9/18 - EPA Upgrades ECHO Database to Add Water Quality Indicators Tool Enhancing Access to Water Quality Data Including Contributors to Pollution (EPA; direct to info page)

9/18 - EPA Announces New Kids and Climate Health Zone with Stories and Tips to Protect Children in a Changing Climate (EPA; direct to website)

9/18 - NASA Shares Hidden Figures Congressional Gold Medal Remarks (NASA; see also, ceremony video)

9/18 - Joint ODNI, FBI, and CISA Statement [re: Iran election interference] (ODNI)

9/18 - Announcing Online Passport Renewal (State; direct to website; see also, special briefing)

9/18 - U.S. Department of the Treasury Releases Guidance to Expand Clean Vehicle Recharging and Refueling Infrastructure and Lower Transportation Costs for Americans (Treas; direct to eligible census tract mapping tool)

9/18 - U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Releases Report: Federal Efforts in Examining Racial and Ethnic Disparities among Victims of Violent Crime (USCCR; direct to report page)

9/18 - Fact Sheet: Biden-⁠Harris Administration Releases U.S. Strategy on Global Development (WH; direct to strategy)

9/19 - Census Bureau Releases Final 2020 Census Data Product (Census; direct to S-DHC page)

9/19 - Alaska Man Arrested for Threatening U.S. Supreme Court Justices, Their Family Members (DOJ)

9/19 - FTC Staff Report Finds Large Social Media and Video Streaming Companies Have Engaged in Vast Surveillance of Users with Lax Privacy Controls and Inadequate Safeguards for Kids and Teens (FTC; direct to report)

9/19 - Biden-Harris Administration Announces Historic Investment to Integrate Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Treatment into Primary Care (HHS; direct to awards page)

9/19 - OGIS Remains Interested in “Still Interested” Letters (NARA)

9/19 - New Study Charts How Earth’s Global Temperature Has Drastically Changed Over the Past 485 Million Years, Driven by Carbon Dioxide (SI; direct to OA article)

9/19 - Department of State Releases 2024 Fiscal Transparency Report (State; direct to report page)

9/19 - U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Releases Report: The Civil Rights Implications of the Federal Use of Facial Recognition Technology (USCCR; direct to report page)

9/19 - End of an era: Historic Landsat 7 mission takes final images (USGS)

9/20 - Biden-Harris Administration Announces Over $3 Billion to Support America's Battery Manufacturing Sector, Create Over 12,000 Jobs, and Enhance National Security (DOE; direct to awards page)

9/20 - FTC Sues Prescription Drug Middlemen for Artificially Inflating Insulin Drug Prices (FTC)

9/20 - COVID Recollections: Now Available – First Collection of Frontline Worker Interviews from the COVID-19 American History Project (LOC; direct to website)

9/20 - U.S. Secret Service Releases Summary of Mission Assurance Investigation into the Attempted Assassination of Former President Donald Trump (USSS; direct to report summary)

9/20 - A U.S. Framework for Climate Resilience and Security (WH; direct to framework)

Information below is from congress.gov. Date listed is date signed into law, and the description is an abbreviated version of bill summary available on that website.

---

9/20 - H.R.7377, Royalty Resiliency Act - modifies the process under which oil and gas leaseholders who have entered into certain joint drilling agreements to drill wells on leased land pay royalties to DOI

9/20 - H.R.9468, Veterans Benefits Continuity and Accountability Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2024 - provides FY2024 supplemental appropriations to the VBA for compensation and pensions, and readjustment benefits

9/16 - Audit of the Library of Congress’s Tracking of Information Technology Project Direct Labor Costs, September 2024 (LOC)

9/17 - Audit of the Department of Justice’s Strategy to Combat and Respond to Ransomware Threats and Attacks (DOJ)

9/17 - Report of [five] Investigations: Whistleblower Reprisal Investigations - 24-N-0061 | 24-N-0062 | 24-N-0063 | 24-N-0064 | 24-N-0065 (EPA; see also, ProPublica article)

9/18 - Summary of Oversight Reports on Security Assistance to Ukraine Issued From January 2020 Through February 2024, to Inform DoD Efforts to Support Israel and Other Future Security Assistance Efforts (DOD)

9/18 - Mgmt. of Excess & Obsolete Paper, Secure Documents (GPO)

9/19 - Special Review of the Department of State’s Handling of the Security Clearance Suspension of the Special Envoy for Iran (State)

9/19 - Actions Need to Be Taken to Improve the Data Loss Prevention Solution and Reduce the Risk of Data Exfiltration (TIGTA)

9/20 - DHS Improved Election Infrastructure Security, but Its Role in Countering Disinformation Has Been Reduced (DHS)

9/18 - A Visual Guide to Inflation From 2020 Through 2023 (CBO)

9/18 - Elections: Preliminary Observations on State Laws and Perspectives on Holding Special Elections to Fill House Vacancies (GAO)

9/18 - COVID-19: HHS Needs to Identify Duplicative Pandemic IT Systems and Implement Key Privacy Requirements (GAO)

9/18 - Corps of Engineers: The Status of Construction Project Environmental Mitigation Has Not Been Reported and Tracked as Required (GAO)

9/19 - Rural Development: Actions Needed to Improve Assistance to Southwest Border Communities Known as Colonias (GAO)

9/17(?) - Previous Board of Scientific Counselors website migrated to new website; new meetings page includes only Feb.2022- and presentation links don’t work; previous meetings page via Internet Archive includes Oct.2003- , with presentations (CDC)

9/17 - Senate Republicans block IVF bill, as Democrats elevate issue ahead of November election (via NPR)

9/18 - Federal Reserve cuts key rate by sizable half-point, signaling end to its inflation fight (via AP; see also, economic projections page and FOMC statement)

9/18 - DLP Dispatch #18 (DLP)

9/18 - U.S. overdose deaths plummet, saving thousands of lives (via NPR, with link to source document)

9/18 - 111 Former G.O.P. Officials Back Harris, Calling Trump ‘Unfit to Serve’ (via NYT, with source document)

9/19 - Comer Probes Inaccuracies in 2020 Census Count that Skewed Apportionment (Congress; direct to letter to Census Bureau director)

9/19 - Redesigned website rolled out (ED)

9/20 - The Energy Department promised this tribal nation a $32 million solar grant. It’s nearly impossible to access (via GovExec)

9/20 - Opinion: A digital tsunami is coming. The National Archives is in trouble. (via WaPo)

See full weekly list of Congressional hearings on congress.gov.

---

9/17 - Ensuring a Trustworthy Government: Examining the National Security Risks of Replacing Nonpartisan Civil Servants with Political Appointees (Senate Homeland; see also, chair post-hearing statement)

9/17 - A Threat to Justice Everywhere: Stemming the Tide of Hate Crimes in America (Senate Judiciary; see also, chair opening statement | ranking member post-hearing statement | NBC News article)

9/18 - Continuity of Congress: Preparing for the Future by Learning from the Past (House Admin; witness testimonies available on minority site; see also, chair opening statement | majority post-hearing statement | minority post-hearing statement)

9/18 - Foreign Threats to Elections in 2024 – Roles and Responsibilities of U.S. Tech Providers (Senate Intelligence)

9/19 - Oversight of Extremism Policies in the Army (House Armed Services; see also, chair opening statement | ranking member opening statement)

9/19 - A Legacy of Incompetence: Consequences of the Biden-Harris Administration’s Policy Failures (House Oversight; chair opening statement | ranking member opening statement | majority post-hearing statement | minority post-hearing statement)