9/30 - Census Bureau Releases New Geospatial Data (Census; direct to TIGER page and mapping files page)
9/30 - Department of Labor launches tool to provide workers with disabilities, employers ideas for workplace accommodations (DOL; direct to website)
9/30 - The National School Lunch Program: Background, Trends, and Issues, 2024 Edition (ERS; direct to report)
9/30 - FBI Releases 2024 Quarterly Crime Report and Use-of-Force Data Update (FBI; direct to data explorer)
9/30 - HHS Announces Cost Savings for 54 Prescription Drugs Thanks to the Medicare Inflation Rebate Program Established by the Biden-Harris Administration’s Lower Cost Prescription Drug Law (HHS; direct to factsheet)
9/30 - National Archives Updates Digital Preservation Framework (NARA; direct to GitHub page)
9/30 - Commerce Department’s New Traffic Coordination System for Space Launches Initial Capabilities (NOAA; direct to website)
9/30 - Biden-Harris Administration Strengthens Federal Scientific Integrity Practices (WH/OSTP; direct to report and new policies page)
10/1 - CFPB Takes Aim at Double Billing and Inflated Charges in Medical Debt Collection (CFPB; direct to final rule; see also, WH factsheet)
10/1 - DOD Awards $43 Million to U.S. Universities to Purchase Equipment for Defense-Related Research (DOD; direct to awards list)
10/1 - Investing in America: Biden-Harris Administration Sends $62 Billion to States from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law for America’s Infrastructure (DOT; direct to awards page – see FY2025 notices section)
10/1 - FDA’s Unified Human Foods Program, New Model for Field Operations, and Other Modernization Efforts Go into Effect (FDA; see also, FDA Modernization Efforts for Establishing a Unified Human Foods Program, New Model for Field Operations and More)
10/1 - MSPB Provides Update on Inherited Inventory (MSPB)
10/2 - First-of-its-kind dataset connects greenhouse gases and air quality (climate.gov; direct to info page and dashboard)
10/2 - DHS’ 2025 Homeland Threat Assessment Indicates the Threat of Domestic and Foreign Terrorism in the Homeland Remains High (DHS; direct to assessment page)
10/2 - Sixty-Eight Defendants Charged in Indictment of Dozens of Members and Associates of California White Supremacist Gang (DOJ)
10/2 - GSA Seeks Ideas for the Sixth U.S. Open Government National Action Plan (DOJ; direct to Open Government website)
10/2 - EPA Proposes to Expand Public Access to Information on More Than One Hundred PFAS “Forever Chemicals” and Support Needed Pollution Prevention Efforts (EPA; direct to info page)
10/2 - EPA Finalizes Rule to Protect Farmworkers, Families and Communities from Pesticide Exposures (EPA)
10/2 - FCC and U.S. Department of Education Release [schools and libraries] Cybersecurity Resource Guide (FCC)
10/2 - Watch a Recording of the 2024 Congress.gov Public Forum (LOC)
10/2 - Some NOAA NCEI websites, systems down due to Helene devastation in Asheville, NC (NOAA; see also, 10/4 update)
10/3 - BLM, USDA Forest Service issue proposed plan for Bears Ears National Monument (BLM; see also, eplanning site – see Proposed Resource Management Plan/Final Environmental Impact Statement section)
10/3 - Biden-Harris Administration Invests $1.5 Billion to Bolster the Nation's Electricity Grid and Deliver Affordable Electricity to Meet New Demands (DOE; direct to report page)
10/3 - Hurricane Helene: Rumor Response (FEMA)
10/3 - Reducing U.S. Passport Processing Time (State)
10/3 - U.S. Department of the Treasury, IRS Announce 30 Million Americans in 24 States Eligible For Direct File in Filing Season 2025 (Treas; direct to eligibility info)
10/3 - Fact Sheet: OMB Issues Guidance to Advance the Responsible Acquisition of AI in Government (WH/OMB; direct to memorandum)
10/3 - Accelerating Clean Energy Technologies Under the Biden-Harris Administration (WH/OSTP; direct to report)
10/4 - Statement from President Joe Biden on the September Jobs Report (WH; see also, BLS report and statements from DOL acting secretary and DOC)
10/4 - Strong job and wage gains continue in this historically unique expansion (WH/CEA)
Information below is from congress.gov. Date listed is date signed into law, and the description is an abbreviated version of bill summary available on that website.
9/30 - H.R.7032, Congressional Budget Office Data Sharing Act – authorizes the CBO to obtain data from executive branch agencies with or without a written agreement if CBO maintains the same level of confidentiality that is required of the agency that provides the data
10/1 - H.R. 9106, Enhanced Presidential Security Act of 2024 - requires the Secret Service to apply the same standards for determining the number of agents required to protect Presidents, Vice Presidents, and major Presidential and Vice Presidential candidates
10/1 - S. 679, GAO Database Modernization Act of 2023 - requires Federal agencies to submit to GAO reports on rules that the agency revokes, suspends, replaces, or amends, or that are otherwise made ineffective
10/1 - S. 2685, Reuse Excess Property Act - requires GSA to make data and internal guidance on excess personal property of Federal agencies publicly available
10/2 - S.1549, Congressional Budget Office Data Access Act - exempts CBO from the Privacy Act of 1974 to expedite the sharing of data and information between CBO and federal agencies
Many OIG reports were published this week, as the new fiscal year began Oct.1. You may want to check out their website if a specific OIG is of interest to you.
10/1 - Former DOI Deputy Secretary Violated Ethics Laws (DOI)
10/1 - Audit of the U.S. Marshals Service’s Special Deputation Authority (DOJ; see also, press release)
10/1 - Management Advisory Memorandum – Notification of Concerns Relating to the DEA’s Untimely Reporting of Potential Human Rights Violations by Foreign Law Enforcement (DOJ; see also, press release)
10/2 - Improvements Are Needed to Ensure Oversight of and Increase Participation in the Free File Program (TIGTA)
10/2 - The OIG’s Oversight of the U.S. Postal Service’s Delivering for America Plan (USPS)
10/3 - Evaluation of NARA’s Controls Over Records Relocation (NARA)
10/4 - FY 2025 OIG Annual Work Plan (GPO)
10/1 - The Port Strike’s Effect on Maritime Commerce (CRS; see also, 10/3 president's statement on ILA and USMX agreement)
10/1 - Digital Experience: Agency Compliance with Statutory Requirements (GAO)
10/2 - Copyright and Uses of Music by Political Campaigns (CRS)
10/3 - Noncitizens in the U.S.: Public Information on Federal Incarcerations (GAO)
10/4 - An Analysis of the President’s 2025 Budget (CBO)
9/29 - Fact check: To attack Harris, Trump falsely describes new stats on immigrants and homicide (via CNN, with links to source documents)
9/30 - First Amendment Activity at Academic Institutions (DHS)
9/30 - FBI to pay $22M to settle claims of sexual discrimination at training academy (via AP)
9/30 - Walz and Vance’s medical files viewed illicitly by veterans department staff (via The Guardian)
9/30 - Biden administration doubles down on tough asylum restrictions at border (via NBC News; see also, DHS press release and WH Proclamation on Amending Proclamation 10773)
9/30 - Trump floats ‘one really violent day’ for police to combat retail crime (via WaPo)
10/1 - SBA’s inspector general will serve double duty in acting Social Security role (via GovExec)
10/1 - US justice department announces investigation into Tulsa race massacre (via The Guardian, with link to source document)
10/1 - Heritage Foundation Staffers Flood Federal Agencies With Thousands of Information Requests (via ProPublica)
10/1 - Russia-paid influencers, trolls step up efforts to influence U.S. election (via WaPo, with links to source documents)
10/3 - Ranking Members Raskin and Thompson Call for Removal of Inspector General Cuffari Following Damning Report (Congress; direct to CIGIE report)
10/3 - Trump initially refused to give California wildfire aid because it’s a blue state, ex-aide says (via Politico, with links to source documents)
10/4 - Ranking Member Raskin and Rep. Ocasio-Cortez Demand Chief Justice Roberts Explain Why He Allowed Justice Alito to Remain on Jan. 6 Case Despite Recognizing Conflict of Interest (Congress; direct to letter)
10/4 - Read What Got Tim Walz Fired Up in His Letters to the VA (via FOIA Files, with source documents)
10/4 - Supreme Court declines to block EPA methane, mercury rules (via SCOTUSblog)
10/4 - No, Biden didn’t take FEMA relief money to use on migrants — but Trump did (via WaPo, with links to source documents)
Classified documents search warrant/indictment:
None this week
2020 election/January 6 indictment:
10/1 - Trump makes last effort to keep hidden January 6 case evidence before election (via The Guardian, with link to source document)
10/2 - Special counsel Jack Smith provides fullest picture yet of his 2020 election case against Trump in new filing (via CNN; see also, document 252 at CourtListener and Who’s Who in Jack Smith’s Immunity Brief via JustSecurity)
2020 election/Georgia indictment:
Docket Watch: Trump Prosecuted in Fulton County (via Lawfare; provides access to documents)
None this week
NY criminal trial (Stormy Daniels payoff):
Court documents (via NY Courts) | Court transcripts and exhibits (full/searchable PDFs, via Law360)
None this week
