Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have a specific article you are looking for, or want to know if UCSD subscribes to a specific journal, it is easiest to search directly using one of the sites listed here:
Search for a journal
If you want to know if UCSD subscribes to a journal (and for which years), search the Roger catalog for the title of the journal.
Search for a specific article
If you know the title of a specific article, it is easiest to type the title into Google Scholar. Once you find the link, click on "UC e-Links" to get to access through UCSD.
Subject Searching in the Journal Literature
The databases listed here include research in a wide variety of formats
in many aspects of structural engineering. For help with what resources
are best for you, or any other questions about this site, please
contact me. For information about accessing the online resources from
off-campus, see our off-campus access page.
Search articles published in medical and basic science journals. 1950's - present. If you don't see UC-eLinks in PubMed, you are probably not using "UCSD's version". Be sure to use this link PubMed. The free version of PubMed (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed) does not include links to UCSD full-text electronic journals.Help using Pubmed
BIOSIS Citation Index
The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals as well as (selectively) books, conferences and patents. 1926 to present.
Web of Science
1900-present. Indexes over 5,300 of the leading science journals across 164 scientific disciplines within engineering, physical, and life sciences, and provides searching of cited references.Quick Guide (PDF)
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec
for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
1969-present. Includes over 4,000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Especially good for IEEE documents and standards.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts & Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
1983-present. Indexes over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports, and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature.